Skip to main content

Information About Amy - Wokingham tutor -

Profile Picture

Amy's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Amy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Amy offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello, my name is Amy, I`m a 27 year old Psychology graduate of the University of Surrey.

I enjoy working with children on a small group or one-to-one basis, so after working in a couple of schools, I decided to become a tutor. The small group or one to one attention allows children to ask questions when they don`t understand without fear of ridicule. Additionally, the pace of the lessons match the child, so they are neither bored nor left behind.

In recent years I have worked as part of a national tuition company but have decided to return to private tuition as, despite learning a lot, I believe this is where my strengths lie.

If you think I might be able to help your child then please feel free to send me an enquiry. I look forward to hearing from you to help your child fulfill their potential.

**If you have cats, please let me know in advance so I can take appropriate medication as I am allergic. Nothing serious, I just get very sneezy!**

Tutoring Experience:

Pаrt оf my degree invоlved а plаcement yeаr, for which I worked in a primary school in London helping children individually and in small groups. I then studied child develоpment аnd educаtiоn аs pаrt оf my degree.

After working in another school once I had graduated, I decided that formal teaching was not for me and that I wanted to become a private tutor. I worked with dozens of families over 2 and a half years, after which I began to work for **Contact Detail Removed** to improve my skills further. 2 years on and I am far more confident in my abilities to support children and young people in their maths and English, as well as work collaboratively with their parents. I am currently finishing up my notice period to return to the wonderful world of one-to-one tuition.

I am currently studying a teaching diploma. I have a dbs certificate which I am happy to bring to your first session if you need me to.

Tutoring Approach:

All my sessions are completely tailored to the tutee as it is paramount that they feel comfortable but at the same time challenged. Each session starts with a quick chat and a catch up to ensure the build up of a relationship and trust, as well as learning what makes each student tick. I am quite a relaxed individual, so students of mine never feel stressed out in my sessions but always have a smile as we patiently work through anything tricky in a calm, step by step manner. I am keen to do lots of practice tests so we can really see the gaps to identify our areas of focus, but then also demonstrate the progress made over time.

** As I am still in full time employment, lessons Sunday to Thursday will not be able to start properly until November 2nd. However, I am able to run your free 45 minute induction session over Fridays and Saturdays before then. Lessons that are booked permanently for Fridays and Saturdays can start from October 12th.

From 2nd November my hours will be as follows:
Monday - Friday 4-5, 5:30-6:30, 7-8
Saturday 9:30-10:30
Sunday 10-11, 11:30-12:30, 1-2, 4-5, 5:30-6:30, 7-8

(If your child is home-schooled I can offer daytime hours, please ask for more information in your enquiry).

Lesson times are allowing for traffic, but they may start up to 10 minutes early or up to 10 minutes late.
I am more flexible during school holidays and am happy to take on more hours those weeks. Due to this, as well as the need in tuition for consistency, my cancellation policy is "there are no cancellations, just lessons to be rearranged". So if you decide to go on holiday, or perhaps I am ill, we can always find another day for that lesson.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Surrey (2013) - 2:1 BSc Psychology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Wokingham Maths tutor, Wokingham English tutor, Wokingham Entrance Exams tutor, Wokingham Primary Maths tutor, Wokingham Secondary Maths tutor, Wokingham GCSE Maths tutor, Wokingham Primary English tutor, Wokingham Secondary English tutor, Wokingham Primary Entrance Exams tutor