Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


Online Biology and Study Skills Tuition

I have just finished my DPhil (PhD) in Biochemistry at the University of Oxford and am currently working full time as a tutor. I have a BSc Biochemistry degree from Cardiff University, and A-levels in Biology, Chemistry, Maths and French. I love science, and enjoy inspiring others through tuition and public outreach projects.

Tutoring Experience

  • I have been a tutoring GCSE and A-level Biology and Chemistry for 6 years
  • I am most familiar with the OCR and AQA exam boards
  • During my PhD I presented my research to experts in my field, and also to the general public, so I have learnt to modify scientific content for a range of audiences.
  • In Cardiff I was part of a mentoring programme for 1st year students and I was their first port of call with any problems (academic or personal). I loved being able to pass on any tips I had picked up from my personal experiences of University.
  • I was a teaching assistant with my dance school for several years then taught my own classes whilst at University. This has given me experience teaching both younger children and students around my own age.
  • Throughout my academic career I have also attended numerous group study and revision sessions, so I have a good idea about the variety of ways people best retain information and what revision techniques often work.
  • Having used a tutor myself for A-level French, I understand how invaluable it is to have one-on-one time with someone who can really help you at your own pace.

Tutoring Approach

I'm very passionate about science and I enjoy sparking that excitement in others. From the first session we work at the tutees own pace, talk through what you already know, what you feel your weaknesses are and what you would like to get out of the tutoring sessions. We can then work together to set a manageable schedule and goals which will keep you feeling positive when you can see you're making progress.

Sessions take place over Zoom, which allows students to attend sessions regardless of location, and also works best for the wealth of online resources we will work through together in sessions. I am available 7am-5pm weekdays. I am also happy to tutor several students in the same session if they are of a similar ability.
I offer a free introductory meeting (usually 10-20 mins) in which the student and I can get to know each other and answer any questions. Parents are very welcome to attend.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Wallingford School Sixth Form2014CollegeA-levels (Biology, Chemistry and French)
Cardiff University2018BachelorsBsc Biochemistry
Wallingford School 2012SchoolGCSEs (8 A*s, 3 As)

Amy's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Click here for more Biology tutors