Information About Amanda - Gloucester tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Amanda's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Amanda:





Subjects Taught

Amanda offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Secondary £28.00
GCSE £28.00
A-Level £28.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £28.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £28.00

Map Location

Map for Amanda (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am an enthusiastic and highly effective teacher, with plenty of experience, currently employed by a local Grammar school. This keeps me up to date with all the latest educational developments. When I am not teaching, I enjoy spending time with my family, creative writing and theatre.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been Head of English and Drama Departments, and have experience of teaching in different schools, both in the UK and overseas. I have taught in state and private schools. Tutoring has been something I have done for a number of years now, and I really enjoy the one-to-one experience - seeing an individual student improve rapidly is particularly rewarding. GCSE and A-Level English are my specialities, but I have also spent lots of time teaching Key Stage 3. I have previously tutored university students and given help with completing assignments. Recently, I spent time in China and taught English to university students in Beijing.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a creative and flexible tutor who can design courses around the student's specific needs. I have a good working knowledge of British exam systems and understand the need for a structured, well paced approach to helping students get their grades. At the same time, I am sympathetic and patient and will take the time to work with the student in a way in which they are comfortable and which builds confidence. Learning needs to be fun, as well as results-driven, and I always take this into account when planning lessons.

I am happy to meet with all potential students, completely free of charge, before beginning tuition. During this first meeting I get chance to fully assess the needs of the student and will produce my enhanced CRB certificate for inspection.


  • Gloucestershire University (2010) - MA in Creative and Critical Writing (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • UWE (1996) - PGCE English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Roehampton University (1994) - BA (Hons) Degree in English and Drama (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Gloucester English tutor, Gloucester Drama tutor, Gloucester Secondary English tutor, Gloucester GCSE English tutor, Gloucester A-Level English tutor, Gloucester University English tutor, Gloucester Casual Learner English tutor, Gloucester Secondary Drama tutor