Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Allison

Allison

Home Tuition for English and French in Exeter

As a teacher and private tutor for 30+ years and Head of Languages in a small independent school for 12+ years, I have extensive experience at Key Stage 2 & 3, Entry Level, GCSE, AS, A Level and International Baccalaureate. I also have experience preparing students for SATs and 11+ examinations and can support the learning of home-schooled children. I have helped many students achieve great results at GCSE, AS/A Level and Baccalaureate as well as helped them gain entry to top private schools and Oxford.

I am an easy-going and friendly teacher with whom students quickly feel at ease, learning rapidly in the safe and calm atmosphere of the welcoming home I share with my family.

I was lucky enough to grow up surrounded by a number of different languages and consequently grew up speaking four. My passion for language was obvious from a very early age and I have been a school teacher and one- to-one private tutor for 30+ years, specialising in languages, both Foreign Languages (French, Spanish and Italian), English Language, English Literature and English as a Second Language.

For a number of years, I have also had the honour to be an Examiner for a leading Examination Board. I have in-depth knowledge of my subject areas and a keen understanding of what is required in order to meet the assessment criteria both at GCSE and AS/A Level. I have tutored many students over the years, all of whom have achieved their academic goals. I have a current enhanced DBS Certificate so you know you can safely entrust your child to my care.

Tutoring Experience

Head of Languages for 12+ years and language teacher for 30+ years.
Private tutor for 30+ years.
Examiner for a leading U.K. Examination Board.

Tutoring Approach

I have been a private tutor for 30+ years as well as a class teacher and Head of Languages. I have gained a wealth of experience over the last 3 decades and have experience of teaching from Key Stage 2 up to A Level. All my students have achieved their academic goals.

When you first contact me about tutoring, I arrange to meet you in person so that I can spend time getting to know the students’ levels, concerns and needs. This allows me to prepare individualised lessons which meet the relevant learning objectives.

I teach in my own home, in a calm and safe environment, at a pace to suit the student. Lessons are designed to target individual needs, to facilitate speedy improvement and build up competence and confidence whilst at the same time making the learning process a relaxed and enjoyable one. Attention is paid to the improvement of specific target areas, to develop key skills, improve written and spoken skills, build vocabulary and boost confidence levels.

I am an enthusiastic, empathetic and highly skilled tutor with a real passion for languages who thoroughly enjoys passing on her skills to learners in a supportive and fun learning environment.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, Italian, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Exeter1988BachelorsB.A.(Hons) Modern Foreign Languages
University of Bristol1989PGCETeaching Qualification
MSM 6th Form1986CollegeEnglish Language/Literature
Groupon 2018OtherTEFL

Allison's Feedback

Feedback
8
Published feedback
7
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Allison
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism