Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Alistair

Alistair

After completing my PGCE (which included teaching practice in St. Davids) I went on to become a Deputy Headteacher of a primary school in Llangollen. I decided to leave Denbighshire and move to Pembrokeshire, where I set up my own tuition company in 2012. I am currently studying myself and as a result am very flexible and can tutor seven days a week, daytime or early evening. It's possible for me to travel or tutor from home depending on what is best for all concerned. I can also teach by Zoom.
I live near Haverfordwest and Milford Haven, but am prepared to travel throughout Pembrokeshire and potentially further.
For the student to get the most out of the tutoring, it would be very important for me to find out what their aims are so that I could produce an effective plan. Please contact me with any queries so that I can make an assessment of the student's requirements. As well as the subjects listed, I also tutor GCSE business studies, RE, PE and biology.

Tutoring Experience

As a former Deputy Headteacher of a primary school in north Wales, I have twelve years experience of teaching both KS1 and KS2. I have spent much of this time working with children with Special Educational Needs (SEN). These children have ranged in ability from those struggling with basic literacy and numeracy skills, to those with gifted abilities.
Since starting my tuition company, I now have 10 further years of experience of one to one teaching, ranging from KS1 to all years of secondary education and adults.
I would be able to teach English, Maths, Combined Science, History, Geography, Religious Studies, Study Skills, Entrance Exam Skills and Second Language Welsh up to GCSE level. My undergraduate degree of Humanities covered English, Welsh Studies, Drama, Religious Studies and History to degree level. I also teach history and English to A level standard.
As a teacher who taught KS1 and KS2, it was always important to maintain strong links with the local secondary school. I also kept improving my subject knowledge up to GCSE level to help the older and more gifted children that I taught.
In the last 10 years, I have successfully helped a number of pupils with preparation for entrance exams and acted as a mentor for a number of secondary students who have faced a number of significant challenges in their schooling.

Tutoring Approach

I am able to tutor a range of subjects from KS1 to GCSE in a fun, structured and interactive way. I am also able to tutor adults, and A level and degree students depending on their subjects and standard. I also teach via Zoom, and as an option, can set work for students, helping them with planning and then emailing back constructive feedback based on their scanned or emailed essays, stories, maths questions, assignments etc.
Above all, I would like to help support and improve students in a stimulating, enjoyable and successful manner. A very patient, empathetic and highly experienced teacher and tutor, I have a good sense of humour and like to see pupils progress in their studies so that they can tackle exams - and the future - with more confidence.
Please contact me for more details. I can teach 45 minute lessons for a fee of £20 if an hour is too long.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Welsh
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

ABERYSTWYTH1999PGCEPGCE
TRINITY COLLEGE CARMARTHEN1993BachelorsBA HUMANITIES (Hons)

Alistair's Feedback

Feedback
20
Published feedback
20
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Alistair
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Click here for more English tutors