Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Alison

Alison

I live in the north east with my husband and twin girls. I studied my certificate in education (PGCE) at Newcastle University in 2010 and achieved a merit. I also completed my undergraduate degree at Newcastle in Animal Science to which I gained a 2:1. My degree not only allowed me to study biology, chemistry and physics in great detail it also allowed me to study a wider science background in statistics, biochemistry, microbiology and physiology.
I enjoy spending time outdoors, running to keep fit and reading to learn.

Tutoring Experience

I have six years teaching experience in the north east. I have received good with outstanding Ofsted observations twice in my teaching career. I have taught children between the ages 11 to 18 in Biology as well as Chemistry to GCSE level. I have taught higher ability children as well as children with special educational needs. I have also taught children of primary school age during booster classes before they enter secondary school. I have home tutored family friends children during the exam season and received good feedback from both parent and child. Throughout my teaching career I have taught and marked exam papers for all of the major exam boards in England
I have been CRB checked and have completed child protection training every year in my career.

Tutoring Approach

I have tutored 34 students in the past four years of tutoring alone. My approach to tutoring is similar to the way I teach, with a good understanding of the students strengths, weaknesses and personality. I have a range of resources that match the students learning style, whether they are visual learners that require attractive memorable resources, kinaest#k#hetic learners who require doing something to learn or auditory learners who prefer to listen and apply their knowledge.The resources I use are clear and tailored to the learner. I have uploaded several of my resources to the TES website which have been downloaded over 100,000 times and have excellent reviews. I pride myself on the good rapports I develop with children especially those that can be shy or unwilling to participate with a new face.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Newcastle University2012PGCEPGCE Science
Newcastle University 2011PGCEPGCE Science
Newcastle Universty 2010BachelorsBSc Animal Science

Alison's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
9
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Alison
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism