Skip to main content

Information About Ning - Glasgow tutor -

Profile Picture

Ning's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ning:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Ning offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Mandarin

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have over fifteen years' teaching experience. I have tutored over 28 students just on FirstTutors! From 2016 to present, I have been working as a lecturer (assistant professor) on language education at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. I am responsible for the teaching and research of both BA and Masters' courses on initial teacher education as well as on TESOL and applied linguistics. I train Primary school teachers, Secondary modern languages teachers (Mandarin, French, Spanish, German and Italian), and teachers of English as a second/foreign language (ESL, EFL).

I am originally from Shenyang, China. I have been living in Scotland for the 9 years now. In my leisure time, I enjoy music, travelling, sports, and learning a new language!

Feel free to check out my other profile on FirstTutors Languages.

Tutoring Experience:

Prior to my current post, I was in charge of the Mandarin curriculum at a Scottish independent school from 2010 to 2016… I also taught a range of university courses on Research Methods, TESOL and Applied Linguistics when completing my PhD at the University of Edinburgh between 2011 and 2014.

I am a very experienced language teacher. Whether your learning goal is to travel to the target country for leisure or for business, to pass an exam or just to learn a new language for fun, I am able to adapt the pace, content and depth to suit your needs.

I started my teaching career as an academic tutor of Mathematics and English at a secondary school in Shenyang, China.

Tutoring Approach:

My teaching style draws from a wide of contemporary teaching methodologies from Communicative Language Teaching, to Task-based Learning and Teaching, to post-method approaches. My unique teaching approach always aims to enthuse and engage my students (I have taught learners from young learners to adults). Not only am I an excellent classroom practitioner, I have also had extensive experience of one-on-one tutoring through both face to face and online settings.

Native Language: Chinese
Additional Languages: French, German, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Edinburgh (2015) - PhD Education (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Edinburgh (2010) - Language Education (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Beijing Foreign Studies University (2009) - Chinese and English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Glasgow Mandarin tutor, Glasgow English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow Primary Mandarin tutor, Glasgow Secondary Mandarin tutor, Glasgow GCSE Mandarin tutor, Glasgow A-Level Mandarin tutor, Glasgow University Mandarin tutor, Glasgow Casual Learner Mandarin tutor, Glasgow Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor