Skip to main content

Information About Priya - Chesterfield tutor

Profile Picture

Priya's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Priya:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £28.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Personal Description:

I qualified as a teacher of English with a PGCE (English 11-18) from the University of Bath, where I also gained QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). I have taught GCSE English and English Literature in secondary schools in Marlborough, Salisbury and East London.

I am an approachable and reliable individual who is very passionate about teaching English and enabling students to succeed academically. I am a patient person, who is able to convey concepts in a clear and engaging manner.

As well as working with students aged 11-18, I have also taught ESOL and Basic Numeracy to unemployed adults in Croydon, South London.

I am currently based abroad, where I privately teach English to Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3, Key Stage 4 and international students/professionals online.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a fully qualified and experienced teacher of English. I have taught English Language at Key Stage 3 and English Literature at both GCSE (Key Stage 4) and A Level (Key Stage 5). I am familiar with the AQA board of examinations.

I am also an Examiner (GCSE English Literature) for the OCR exam board.

I have taught both ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and Basic Numeracy for adults. I am familiar with the City & Guilds examinations.

I have over eight years experience of privately tutoring students in the following subjects: 11 Plus English, 11 Plus Verbal Reasoning, GCSE English Language and Literature, English (written), GCSE English Language (Re-sits), SATs and conversational English.

I currently work full-time as a freelance teacher of English online, for a number of private companies; teaching GCSE students based in the UK, Primary students (Year 6) based in the UK, homeschooled students and professionals worldwide.

Tutoring Approach:

I thoroughly prepare lessons beforehand and I provide students with learning materials and aids. I am very structured in my approach and ensure that students are made aware of areas for improvement from an early stage and that they are given a very clear and manageable course of action. I tailor my lessons specifically for the individual in order to ensure that I cater for their preferred learning style. I create a relaxed environment so that students can confidently ask questions and become active learners. I also regularly monitor and inform students of their progress.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • THE UNIVERSITY OF BATH (2006) - QTS (QUALIFIED TEACHER STATUS) (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • THE UNIVERSITY OF BATH (2006) - PGCE ENGLISH 11-18 (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • BRUNEL UNIVERSITY (2005) - BA (HONS.) ENGLISH AND FILM & TV (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Chesterfield English tutor, Chesterfield Secondary English tutor, Chesterfield GCSE English tutor, Chesterfield Casual Learner English tutor