Peter

Peter

Maths Tuition in Bewdley

I am married, with three grown-up children. I am a practising Christian; a member of the local Anglican parish church. I love gardening, cycling, walking, reading, pottery, DIY and music.

Tutoring Experience

I qualified in Religious and Theological Studies at Westhill College, Birmingham in 1986, obtaining a B Ed Hons Degree. I taught in various Comprehensive schools for two years before transferring to Primary education. My career enabled me to teach every age group, until I decided to take early retirement in 2010. Since that time I have worked as a home tutor, broadening out into GCSE and even A Level. I have worked with up to thirty pupils a week, developing my ground floor front room into a full-equipped teaching base.

Tutoring Approach

I prefer to work one-to-one, although occasionally it has been the case the students have studied with their friends or siblings. I involve the parents fully at all stages. I tailor each lesson to the needs of the student, and go at their pace. I like to vary the lessons by including games and puzzles wherever possible, as I find these have enormous potential for developing thinking skills. I use discussion, both with the pupils and with their parents. Some parents insist on having homework, others are not so keen. Some students know exactly what they want to study when they arrive, others need coaxing to explore subjects they are struggling with. Some students are already well able to organise themselves, whereas others have no apparent study skills and are drifting. I try to encourage all my students to make the most of the opportunities that are available to them. What I do find , over and over again, is that pupils and parents find my approach calm and reassuring. I think my students have fun, too!

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Birmingham University1986BachelorsB Ed Hons
Peter
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!