Skip to main content

Information About Michael - Brighton tutor

Profile Picture

Michael's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Michael:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Michael offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £50.00
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00

Map Location

Map for Michael

Personal Description:

I have tutored many students in the UK and abroad since graduating from the University of Sheffield in July 2014 with a First Class degree in Civil Engineering. I studied maths to A-Level, in which I achieved an A grade, and my mathematical skills developed further throughout my university course.

I am passionate about travelling and have visited many countries throughout the world in my gap year, long university summers and the years since graduating. I am a keen participant and follower of several sports, including football, cricket, tennis and cycling. I also enjoy playing guitar in my spare time.

Tutoring Experience:

After graduating university, I worked with several young people in Nottingham, as a self-employed one-to-one tutor. For the last two years, I have lived in Australia and New Zealand working part-time as a tutor, teaching small groups in a **Contact Detail Removed** **Contact Detail Removed** as well as tutoring several one-to-one clients.

Prior to my teaching experience, I worked with young people for 7 years in my part-time position at Lakeside Arts Centre at the University of Nottingham. Supervising and engaging a wide variety of age groups in artwork and creative tasks required many of the interpersonal skills which tutoring demands.

I regularly provided support for fellow students whilst at university, assisting in particular with the mathematical aspects of a wide range of other courses, including Psychology, Biology and Medicine. I also informally tutored my brother and several family friends throughout their GCSEs and A-Levels.

Tutoring Approach:

First and foremost I am always keen to boost the confidence of the person I am tutoring, focussing on the strengths that the individual has. I seek to quickly establish their level of ability and identify the root of the problems that they are encountering. I have found, through my own learning and the progress of others, that polishing the understanding of basic mathematical concepts is the most valuable aspect of developing maths ability.

My approach is attentive and well structured, although I believe that a relaxed, informal manner is valuable when one-to-one tutoring outside of the school/college environment.

I hope that I can share my enthusiasm for the subject, and help students realise that maths isn't a topic to fear but to enjoy!

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sheffield (2014) - Civil Engineering (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Bilborough College (2009) - Mathematics (College) (✔ On File)
  • Bilborough College (2009) - Physics (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Bilborough College (2009) - Economics (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Brighton Maths tutor, Brighton Primary Maths tutor, Brighton Secondary Maths tutor, Brighton GCSE Maths tutor