Skip to main content

Information About Laura - Barnes tutor

Profile Picture

Laura's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Laura:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Map Location

Map for Laura

Personal Description:

Hello! I am a qualified English teacher with four years’ teaching experience in London secondary schools. I have taught students at KS3, KS4 and KS5, as well as students with additional learning needs. I am friendly and supportive, and I have developed a range of strategies and ideas to help students who need further support in their academic work.

I enjoy working with students who lack confidence in English. It is a challenging subject for many, and I aim to boost students’ confidence and reinvigorate their interest with engaging and individually-tailored sessions.

I have a PGCE, DBS certification and strong academic qualifications, meaning I can support students at a range of levels. For example, I can help:
- Students who are preparing for their upcoming GCSE and A level exams in English;
- University-level students who require support with essay-writing and study skills;
- KS3 students who are disengaged with English or struggling at school.

Additionally, I have experience teaching students with more complex learning needs such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, ADHD and associated conditions such as autism spectrum disorder. This year, I have taught in two specialist schools for students with this profile, and am aware of the challenges faced by these students in reading, writing and more generally at school. Having worked in a mainstream environment, I also know that the needs of these students are often not met in a full classroom. I am currently studying for a Level 5 qualification with the British Dyslexia Foundation in Dyslexia, Literacy and Intervention, which will allow me to support students with fundamental literacy skills such as decoding and spelling.

I am currently completing a Level 5 TEFL course, and I can therefore also support students for whom English is a second language.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught in a high-performing London academy for three years before moving to work in specialist education this year. I have taught the Edexcel specification at GCSE and AS level, but am able to tutor in other specifications too.

I am new to First Tutors, but I can provide references from colleagues and parents.

Tutoring Approach:

I offer an initial free 30-minute session to determine the student’s needs, objectives and interests.

The work we will do will depend on the academic level of the student, but will involve a focus on vocabulary, self-expression in writing, critical thinking and analysis, revision of key content. I use a range of resources and break up sessions into several ‘chunked’ activities to keep a student engaged. Sessions can also be more informal and focussed on essays or homework.

I am based in SW14 and can travel to a home or cafe location up to 30 minutes away. I can also conduct sessions via Skype if it is appropriate. I am available for sessions from 8am to 9pm any day of the week, subject to my schedule.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Roehampton (2015) - Secondary English (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (2012) - English Literature (Distinction) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Birmingham (2011) - English and American Literature (First Class) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnes English tutor, Barnes Secondary English tutor, Barnes GCSE English tutor, Barnes A-Level English tutor, Barnes University English tutor, Barnes Casual Learner English tutor