Information About Katherine - Caernarfon tutor

Profile Picture

Katherine's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Katherine:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Casual Learner £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Katherine (Miss)


Personal Description:

Studying at the Leeds College of Music has led me down some interesting paths; I have played in numerous Big-bands (playing music from the Latin traditions to Contemporary and even folk-inspired arrangements) alongside working with the College New Music Ensemble, Symphony orchestra and Sinfonietta. Having gained entry into the MMus programme at the Royal Northern College of Music (for September 2011), I hope to continue a career in orchestras and smaller ensembles.

I also run my own Clarinet Quartet, who are to audition for Live Music Now; LMN is an organisation which uses music in schools, special ed. establishments, prisons and other community establishments, enriching the lives of hundreds of children and adults every year/

Tutoring Experience:

Aside from running my quartet (I have learned a great deal about music and administrative direction from this!), I have taught both privately (clarinet and saxophone) and in a group setting; I have co-led a workshop as part of a folk trio (on penny whistle).

Clarinet (all clarinets from Bb to Bass) – all grades/standards

Saxophones (all saxophones from Bb Soprano to Eb Baritone) – all grades/standards


All recorders (To all grades and standards)

Music Theory up to ABRSM Grade 5 level

General class coaching/workshops (singing and using movement with music)

Tutoring Approach:

In my experience with the folk trio mentioned above, we strived to get the individuals in our local youth club to move and sing, thus promoting movement, rhythm pitch and freedom - while having a great time!

In a one-to-one lesson, I always begin with a short questionnaire asking what the aims of the individual are etc.

If you wish to perform on your chosen instrument, I will help to make it happen; otherwise if you wish to be in a group/work towards grades or just acquiring new hand to eye coordination, I will always be there to guide you!


  • Leeds College of Music (2011) - (of Arts) in Music (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Ysgol Friars, Bangor (2006) - A Level Music (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Capel Berea Newydd (2006) - ABRSM Grade 8 (Practical) Clarinet (Other) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Welsh
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Caernarfon English tutor, Caernarfon Music tutor, Caernarfon Primary English tutor, Caernarfon Casual Learner English tutor, Caernarfon Primary Music tutor, Caernarfon Secondary Music tutor, Caernarfon GCSE Music tutor, Caernarfon A-Level Music tutor, Caernarfon University Music tutor, Caernarfon Casual Learner Music tutor