Information About Joshua - Dulwich tutor

Profile Picture

Joshua's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Joshua:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Joshua (Mr)


Personal Description:

Having been a student of music and the guitar now for fifteen years, I understand what it is to learn. I actively learn new things constantly in all aspects of my life as a professional musician and it inspires me to create. Doing this has also given me a love for teaching and the understanding and patience that this role requires.

I began my journey with music and the guitar as a child, by listening to and copying my favourite music and this remains one of my favourite ways to learn.
I then took music lessons as a teenager with a wonderful musician and mentor, Dave Evans.

At 16, I taught myself my first classical guitar pieces and continued pursuing my interest in classical guitar until university. (In conjunction with a passion for electronica, jazz and rock)

At The University of Liverpool, I studied Classical Guitar under the virtuoso, Anthony Steinmetz.

EXPERIENCE AS A MUSICIAN: (most recent first)

I am currently recording an album in Abbey Road Studios with a band (Name TBC). I play guitar and keys as well as co-producing the project.
The band has recently performed with and recorded an NME session with Carl Barrat (The Libertines)

I have just co-written and co-produced the music for an independent British film 'X + Y' starring Rafe Spall
Last year I composed the original soundtrack for the worldwide release of the BBC drama 'Peaky Blinders' Series 1.

My previous electronica project 'Capac' recorded BBC sessions at Maida Vale and achieved regular plays from Hugh Stevens, BBC Radio 1.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 10 years experience teaching whole classes, one-to one lessons, workshops and masterclasses in schools and privately.

I currently work in schools for Waltham Forest Music Service teaching in whole class and small group settings.

As a result I also have a current CRB check.

Tutoring Approach:

Learning is the key. I aim to foster an environment for my students where you can take ownership of your learning an ultimately achieve your potential. This means engaging and enjoying the guitar, having fun and playing the music you love as well exploring new musical horizons. All of this can happen as beginners from any age.

I guide my students through this process and encourage them to adopt a good technique and understanding of theory as well as the freedom to experiment, create and improvise.

My mentors infused me with a heightened love of music, which encouraged me to play and play and play!
I wish to do the same for **Web Address Removed** REGARDING GROUP SESSIONS.

Group Concessions:

£30 per hour for the first student plus an additional £10 for every subsequent student.

Group of **Telephone Number Removed** Group of **Telephone Number Removed** I travel to students' homes in the Dulwich/Peckham/Camberwell area.

In the Hackney area, I have a studio from which I base my teaching. The studio is equipped with many different guitars and amplifiers, a piano and studio recording equipment which all make for an enhanced learning experience.

**Removed By Admin**


  • The University of Liverpool (2006) - BA HONS MUSIC - Major - Classical Guitar (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dulwich Music tutor, Dulwich Primary Music tutor, Dulwich Secondary Music tutor, Dulwich GCSE Music tutor, Dulwich A-Level Music tutor, Dulwich Casual Learner Music tutor