Skip to main content

Information About Jill - Stockport tutor

Profile Picture

Jill's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Jill:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Jill (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified TEFL (CELTA) teacher with a masters in adult education, a professional graduate certificate in education (post 16) and a diploma (masters level) in adult dyslexia, diagnosis and support. My background is in teaching English as a foreign language (overseas) and teaching ESOL in the UK. Between 2007 and 2010, I ran a dyslexia outreach project for adults in east Manchester. I provided diagnostic assessments and 1:1 support tailored to adults' individual needs. I worked for the British Dyslexia Association between 2010 and 2016 on two dyslexia and multilingualism projects and I have experience in assessing multilingual learners for dyslexia.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught EFL to adults and children in Portugal and Japan. I then moved to Vietnam where I taught English and methodology to trainee English teachers. My next position involved developing an intensive English course for undergraduate students at a university in north west Sri Lanka. I also prepared subject-related English lessons around nutrition, and community-based development and helped some of the lecturers prepare for the IELTS exam. Since returning to the UK, I have taught ESOL at Manchester Adult Education centres and in the community. This included working with female students from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Somali and Iran. I have also worked 1:1 with mainly male students from Japan and Saudi Arabia. I have significant experience in working 1:1 with dyslexic adults.

Tutoring Approach:

I use initial sessions to build a relationship with my students and to develop a sense of their needs and interests. Sessions are person-centred and tailored to individual needs. I have a friendly and enthusiastic approach and am able to put students at ease and create a positive learning environment. I use various communicative activities, multisensory activities and games to ensure that students remain engaged.

Qualifications:

  • University of Huddersfield (2009) - Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • London South Bank University (2008) - Postgraduate Diploma in Adult Dyslexia, Diagnosis and Support (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Manchester (2002) - MEd in Adult Education, Literacy and Community Based Development (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Marble Arch Teacher Training (1990) - RSA Certificate for the Teaching of English as a Foreign Language to Adults (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, basic spoken Sinhala
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stockport Special Needs tutor, Stockport English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stockport University Special Needs tutor, Stockport Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Stockport University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stockport Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor