Geoff

Loughton Tutor

I am a 24 year old drum and music teacher based in Loughton. On Sundays I can usually be found playing drums or bass in my local church (on weeks when I'm not running the youth group) and on Thursdays I run a youth group and rehearse with my band, Amongst the Few.

Alongside football and games; drumming, listening to music and playing around on the guitar, piano and bass are some of my favourite things to do. I currently have 30 minute and 1 hour teaching slots available on Saturday daytimes, Friday evenings, and Wednesday mornings and evenings. However, do still get in touch if none of those suit and I will see what I can do.

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching drums from the music room in my home for 6 years and have began offering beginner guitar, piano and music theory lessons in 2015. As well as a range of private students at home (the youngest was 6 when he started), I have been providing 1:1 and small group drum and music lessons in schools for 4 years. I have previously volunteered with School of Rock, teaching children how to put their skills into practise in a band style setting.

When completing my music degree, I chose to study music pedagogy which enabled me to further refine my teaching skills and have my lesson plans and teaching style audited by university lecturers.

Tutoring Approach

I aim to ensure that every lesson is differentiated to the needs of the student and includes some popular music culture and theory as well as practical skills. I have two drum kits in my studio which means that, during drumming lessons, the student is able to have the maximum time on the drums without needing to get off for me to demonstrate a technique or song.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

TMS2015BachelorsBMus in Commercial Music Performance
Rock School2012OtherGrade 7 Drums
Rock School2015OtherGrade 1 Guitar
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!
Music
Primary£20
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
Casual Learner£20