Skip to main content

Information About Emma - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Emma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Emma

Personal Description:

I am currently a third-year student at Edinburgh University, specialising in Neuroscience through a undergraduate Biomedical Sciences degree. My life experiences within South Africa, India, and many other countries of the world have shaped me into a well-rounded person: one who is adaptable to comfortably interact with and assist people from a wide variety of cultural, social, and economic backgrounds. I have always had a passion for the sciences, and thus I have grown to become an extremely hard-working, observant, organized, and methodical person. I hold and express a strong passion for academics, and I find that a fundamental element of learning is teaching. I am thus eager to tutor Biology, Chemistry, and Mathematics to students, as such an opportunity would allow me to dedicate the wholeness of my time and energy to a meaningful, educational activity from which others and myself may benefit from.

Tutoring Experience:

I attended the Mahindra United World College of India, and during the completion of my International Baccaleureate degree I tutored students, both within my grade and the grade below, in Higher Level IB Biology. I simaltaneously participated in an Active English teaching group, which involved organising and executing English classes at the local Mulshi valley Primary School to students aged 10-16 who spoke Maharati as their mother tongue. I also worked as an student councillor as part of a Peer Support programme, which entailed making myself available for one-on-one sessions with students who saught emotional/mental support.

Tutoring Approach:

My goal as a tutor will be to create a platform of mutual respect between myself and the tutee upon which I may develop their genuine understanding of large quantities of information; allowing them to build confidence in relating topics to the broader scientific/mathematical picture, and in tackling unfamiliar problems. My teaching approach emphasizes understanding over memorization, and practice over repetition. Initially, I revise all the necessary material with the student, to isolate topics which they struggle to grasp. I would thereafter build the students' confidence with these topics through giving detailed explanations, presenting real-life examples, completing basic problems with them, and helping them to create their own diagrams/mindmaps/notes that solidify and further build their broader understanding. Throughout this process, I would always ask questions to ensure the student is thinking for themselves.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Edinburgh (2019) - Neuroscience Honours in Biomedical Sciences (Bachelors) (in progress)
  • Mahindra United World College of India (2015) - International Baccalaureate Diploma (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Maths tutor, Edinburgh Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Biology tutor, Edinburgh Primary Maths tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Maths tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Maths tutor, Edinburgh Primary Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Primary Biology tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Biology tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Biology tutor