Beverley

Beverley

Wantage Tutor

I am a qualified social worker, currently working in the field of children's mental health services. However, most of my working-life in South Africa I spent working in the field of education, training and development; teaching young adults with learning and physical difficulties, and running environmental programmes with primary school age children.

I have two children of my own; one who has almost completed her secondary school phase, and one who has just started foundation phase. My role as a mum has been to enable their learning through encouraging self-discovery and an enquiring philosophy. The result: confident, independent and happy children!

Tutoring Experience

I have over 20 years experience in teaching. Additionally, I have extensive experience in developing training materials; improving/editing existing materials; assessing learners; as well as moderating assessors and training programmes. I have also spent many years mentoring and training other trainers/facilitators.

Tutoring Approach

The main teaching principles I use are focussed on ensuring the learner learns HOW to learn. The materials I have developed and the teaching methods used focus on an active learning approach, using practical examples from everyday life to maximise learning and understanding.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Kwa Zulu Natal1994BachelorsSocial Worker
University of Cape Town1999OtherAdvanced Diploma of Educators of Adults
Adult Education & Development1998OtherEnglish 2nd Language FacilitatorsTraining Course
Beverley
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Primary£25
Geography
Primary£25
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£25
Study Skills
Primary£25