Skip to main content

Information About Alison - York tutor

Profile Picture

Alison's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Alison:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Alison offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Alison

Personal Description:

Hello, I am a friendly, qualified and experienced EFL/ESOL tutor offering 1:1 private tutorials at your home, online (restricted online times at the moment) or on campus at all levels (elementary, intermediate and advanced) as well as:

• Cambridge exam prep/IELTS
• Proof-reading of assignments/dissertations
• Business English
• Medical English

I am also a fully qualified and experienced medical secretary, having worked in Manchester, Leeds and London

Tutoring Experience:

After completing my MA at the University of Manchester, I successfully passed my TESOL Certificate (Trinity College London) at City College Manchester as a result of many international students I lived with in halls encouraging me to embark upon TEFL. I then travelled to Leipzig in former East Germany and taught EFL to a wide range of adults for almost 18 months for the Berlitz Sprachschule. I taught groups of business employees, eg, at Deutsche Bank and Siemens, as well as general conversational English to students and offered private 1:1 sessions. (Levels included false beginners, intermediate and upper intermediate students).

In 2000, I returned to the UK to study for a PGCE in Further Education at Cardiff University, where I mainly taught ESOL to refugees, asylum seekers and some college/university students. After successfully completing my PGCE, I taught EFL/ESOL at the South Cheshire College for about nine months. Unfortunately, my contract came to an end due to a budget shortfall at the college which meant I had to return to medical secretarial work in Manchester where I occasionally taught EFL privately on a 1:1 basis, both adults and children.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a relaxed approach to tutoring and have proved that this achieves the best results. I like to think I can put my students at their ease, realising that sometimes learners have a diffident approach to learning EFL due to cultural differences and language barriers. I have taught many different nationalities - mainly adults, but also some young children. I try to tailor my lessons to the requirements of my students/pupils when I can and use a variety of teaching strategies to cater for all learning styles. I can motivate and inspire students, but also challenge them to perform beyond their expected grades. Students need to feel success and have a series of challenging but achievable short term goals.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • TEFL Educator (Member of the International Association of TEFL) (2016) - 20-hour IntensiveTeaching TOEFL, IELTS, TOEIC (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • TEFL.org.uk (2015) - 40-hour Teaching English Online (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (2001) - PGCE in Further Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Manchester (1996) - MA (Econ) in Applied Social Research (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: York English (Foreign Language) tutor, York Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, York A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, York University English (Foreign Language) tutor, York Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor