Skip to main content

Information About Volfango - Wigan teacher -


This is how 2 referees rated Volfango:





Subjects Taught


Price Guide
Beginner £22.00
Intermediate £22.00
Advanced £24.00
Expert £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher (PGCE) and involved in the world of chess since my early teens. At the age of 19 I founded a chess club and been its chairman for 27 months. Besides having taught chess (see next section) I have been a chess arbiter, events organiser, clubs' captain and member of the board of trustees of the Lombard Region Committee. I have a great passion for chess and I have written for all three major Italian chess magazines (paper format) as well as collaborating with a famous chess blog. I have been three times Welsh champion of my category and once vice-Italian champion and I have won tournaments in Italy, England, Wales, Spain, Poland and played in other European countries too such as France, Germany and Greece.

Teaching Experience:

I have taught chess, since the very early nineties, in primaries and secondaries schools, besides in several chess clubs, having matured a 30 year experience. I am still teaching chess in primaries and secondaries schools and teaching chess campuses over summer or weekends, (although nowadays most of my chess instruction is carried out online). Overall I have taught chess in Italy, England, Wales and Spain. Besides chess, I have worked as a teacher in schools and as a lecturer in colleges and a university. I have successfully passed a theoretical and practical course for chess tutors run by the Basque Chess Federation and, later on, a similar one for the Italian Federation and constantly frequent seminars and courses for chess trainers. I have also designed coursed and formed chess and chessboxing instructors for qualifications recognised by the Italian Olimpic Committee and I have also trained teachers in teaching chess in schools.

Teaching Approach:

In a one to one chess lesson, I target my teaching style to what is required and wanted by the client. In general I try to make the learning quite interactive and engaging for the student. Many of the resources I use are own devised, targeted for that particular student but I also borrow from a variety of chess books and other sources such as (CPD) courses I have been on.
I offer tuition in strategy, tactics, middle-game, end-game and, I also offer help in creating an opining repertoire that would fit with the individual style of the pupil.
I specialize in online teaching, at different levels, from novices to tournament players.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: English (British), Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • CAT & University of East London (2008) - Architecture: Advanced Environmental and Energy Studies (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Chester (2007) - PGCE Secondary with QTS (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Aberystwyth University (2006) - LLB Law Honours (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Aberystwyth University (2004) - BSc(Econ) Honours in European Studies with Spanish (within the International Politics Dpt.) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wigan Chess teacher, Wigan Beginner Chess teacher, Wigan Intermediate Chess teacher, Wigan Advanced Chess teacher, Wigan Expert Chess teacher