Skip to main content

Information About Victoria - Notting Hill teacher -

Profile Picture

Victoria's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Victoria:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Victoria offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

French

Price Guide
Beginner £75.00
Intermediate £75.00
Advanced £75.00
Expert £75.00

English

Price Guide
Beginner £75.00
Intermediate £75.00
Advanced £75.00
Expert £75.00

Cantonese

Price Guide
Beginner £75.00
Intermediate £75.00

Mandarin

Price Guide
Beginner £75.00
Intermediate £75.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello! I am originally from Hong Kong and I share my passion for foreign languages through tutoring. I speak fluent French, English, Cantonese, Mandarin, and intermediate Russian. I also have a huge interest in the arts, around which my hobbies and education have always revolved. I studied in the UK, France, Switzerland, and the United States for my higher education and I started tutoring professionally after my bachelor's degree. I love helping my students progress and achieve their learning objectives– aiding the academic, intellectual and personal growths of my students are highlights of my tutoring experience, not to mention my own growth as a tutor thanks to them.

My Education Background:
I did my A Levels at Canford School in Dorset and I graduated from King's College London with a BA in French and Management in 2017. During my year abroad at King's, I completed a six-month study exchange at ESSEC Paris, studying French and Business, and another six months at Université de Genève reading French Literature and Philosophy. Languages aside, I also completed an MA in Art Business at Sotheby's Institute of Art in 2019, where I also studied Contemporary Art in New York for a semester exchange. I am currently completing my PGD in Asian Art at SOAS in London.

When not tutoring or involved with the art world, I also teach yoga and I like to take the time to enjoy music, cinema and literature.

Teaching Experience:

I am a CELTA-certified English teacher with five years of teaching experience. My passion for tutoring started when I was fourteen and did volunteer work at a daycare centre and a school for disabled children, where I tutored students aged six and ten. Since 2017, I have been working as a freelance tutor and have tutored over 120 students. I specialise in teaching foreign languages and in helping UK students with GCSE and A Levels exam preparations. My clients are based in London, Paris, Hong Kong and Shanghai; ranging from as young as 4* to adult learners. In 2019, I also worked at a private tutorial centre in Hong Kong for current and prospective pupils in the UK.

Teaching Approach:

General:
Language classes are generally structured around speaking, listening and reading with writing tasks set as homework. None of my students share the same learning programme - everyone has a different learning style, background and interests so every lesson is bespoke and well-researched. I use various academic resources and learning materials readily available in the market in my classes, as well as my own original materials sourced from classic and contemporary literature and media. I aim to deliver relevant and empowering learning results, focusing on critical thinking, creativity, and self-development.

For Exams:
Note-making, past papers revision as well as quizzes are the main focuses for my exam preparation sessions. Having experienced both Asian and Western education systems and studied for their exams, I am honoured to share comprehensive and effective studying techniques.

For Leisure or Business:
Classes are theme-based and split between oral, reading and listening comprehension, whilst working on grammar and pronunciation throughout. I started my journey with French when I was 10 and with Russian four years ago, allowing me to be in my students' shoes as a fellow learner too!

I am more than happy to discuss what works best for you and your learning needs. Please do get in touch if you have any questions.

FREE FIRST LESSON (ONLINE ONLY):
For all my new clients, I offer a free 45-minute session which includes a consultation, assessment, and mini taster class. I hope you get to know me and my teaching style better before committing to a class, please do message me to enquire if you are interested.

IN-PERSON LESSONS:
£75/hr is my online rate. In-person tuition is based on this rate including travel time and fare (£30). New clients who prefer to meet me in person for their first lesson will enjoy an introductory discount (30% off).

LATE CANCELLATION POLICY:
Please notify me at least a day in advance to reschedule or cancel, otherwise confirmed lesson will be charged.

*I hold an Enhanced DBS Certificate.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Cantonese, Chinese, French, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • SOAS, London (2020) - Chinese Art (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Sotheby's Institute of Art, New York (2019) - Art Business (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • King's College London (2017) - French and Management (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Notting Hill French teacher, Notting Hill English teacher, Notting Hill Cantonese teacher, Notting Hill Mandarin teacher, Notting Hill Beginner French teacher, Notting Hill Intermediate French teacher, Notting Hill Advanced French teacher, Notting Hill Expert French teacher, Notting Hill Beginner English teacher, Notting Hill Intermediate English teacher, Notting Hill Advanced English teacher, Notting Hill Expert English teacher, Notting Hill Beginner Cantonese teacher, Notting Hill Intermediate Cantonese teacher, Notting Hill Beginner Mandarin teacher, Notting Hill Intermediate Mandarin teacher