Skip to main content

Information About Sajid - Batley teacher -


This is how 2 referees rated Sajid:





Languages Taught


Price Guide
Beginner £9.00
Intermediate £9.00
Advanced £9.00
Expert £9.00


Price Guide
Beginner £9.00
Intermediate £9.00


Price Guide
Beginner £9.00
Intermediate £9.00
Advanced £9.00
Expert £9.00


Price Guide
Beginner £9.00
Intermediate £9.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Education and Training Attainments

I was a student at the University of Leeds and completed B.A. (Hons) in Combined Arts (part-time). I completed my Post 16 I.T.A (Initial Teaching Award – Preparing To Teach In The Life - Long Learning Sector) over the summer at the University of Leeds. This course holds Qualified Teacher Status in Learning & Skills. I also have G.C.S.E. Maths & English. My areas of expertise are English & Theology, but I can also assist with other humanities subjects, Basic Skills, teaching foreign/ethnic minority students and in other areas deemed suitable for me. I have partaken in the University of Leeds Mentoring Scheme and I help out at the local Community & Educational Centre. I have an up to date the CRB; however, I realise I may still need to have another one done.

General and Special Knowledge

I have covered Child Protection & Equal Opportunities Legislation during my Initial Teaching Training. I am well aware of the needs of my community. I have undertaken a number of on-the-job trainings in Customer Care and I am expected to maintain customer confidentiality at all times.

Teaching Experience:

Relevant Experience

I have passed my QTS tests in ICT, Literacy & Numeracy and I am registered with the GTC & also with the IfL (Institute for Learning). Currently I am undertaking MTL (Master in Teaching & Learning) and PGCE in Post 16 Education at Joseph Priestley College both part time in the evening. I teach Functional Skills and Adult Education. As an ITT (Initial Teacher Training) Student I taught MFL (Modern Foreign Languages at Roundhay High School and my last placement was at Batley Girls High School. Previous to this, I have taught literacy foundation level as part of Basic Skills (Communication) to students with challenging behaviour at Hillsborough College. I have also undertaken Literacy Assignments as a Basic Skills Tutor for Park Lane College (now City College) and N.V.Q. Training in Retail & Warehousing Operations on behalf of Wakefield College. My degree is in Combined Arts (English Literature & Theology) and therefore I have the confidence to teach Humanities up to A’ level if required to do so.

At the moment, I work part time at IKEA as a Co-Worker. I provide advice to customers at Ikea about various household furniture & items; their benefits as well as suitability. I assist customers in the Showroom area, who wish to purchase Bedroom or Bathroom furniture. I have ten years experience as part of a sales and customer service team, requiring knowledge of the business procedures and structures of the most successful furniture retail company in the world. My responsibilities include processing customer orders, advising customers and doing stock-check. I use company’s national computer network. Other elements of this position include liaising with colleagues from different departments, working under pressure and working as part of a team. The retail experience detailed above has taught me how to maintain good personal relationships with other team members whilst working in a stressful environment, and also mix with other nationalities in both professional and social contexts.

My voluntary work is at Al-Saeed Foundation. The working environment can be very stressful. I have been involved in voluntary community work for a substantial number of years at the local Community & Educational Centre. I help in the day to day running of the Centre. I also supervise groups of youngsters and fellow volunteers. As part of my voluntary work, it is my responsibility to liaise with parents and members of the public and also to deal with external organisations such as; Utility companies, the Charity Commission, various departments within Kirklees Council, Royal Mail and other community & public organisations. In addition to the above it is my responsibility to steer the Charity we have established. The next step is to get the appeal forms ready in order to get the Charity running.

My employment at REEMAP was as a Community Outreach & Development Worker. The organisation aims to achieve the MATRIX Standard and as you may be aware, stringent criteria has to be put in place and adhered to by Staff in order to qualify for the Award. My primary role was to raise awareness of Higher Education amongst the BME (Black & Minority Ethnic) group. My work was multi-agency requiring me to work alongside with Parents, Schools and Community & Educational Organisations (including liaising and working in partnership with Council departments) to deliver PATHE (Positive Action To Higher Education) Sessions, Parents Workshops and IAG (Information & Guidance) amongst hosting other community events. I provided relevant information to Parents and Pupils, so they were in a position to make informed choices relating to Options and educational routes available. As a Community Outreach & Development Worker I had to explore effective avenues in order to engage with the otherwise hard to reach communities. Another of the Projects allocated to me was together statistical data that would identify the level of support needed in particular areas. My role was also to identify and recruit potential volunteers who would benefit from work experience.
My previous work experience includes working at Jordon Solicitors. My duties included photocopying, filing and general administration. I also worked at Mill Lane Junior & Infant School as a Teaching Assistant where I helped in class lessons and provided 1-1 support.

Teaching Approach:

Skills & Abilities

I communicate in a clear and coherent manner with all members of staff and I liaise with other departments. I respond appropriately to customers with diverse temperaments and exhibit a very sympathetic approach towards them. By attending the University I am able to produce written material to a high standard. I have enhanced my ICT skills and organisational skills; I have learnt to manage and prioritise my workload, work under pressure and meet deadlines. By undertaking the Initial Teaching Award I have not gained confidence in presenting information using different tools to selected audience but also learned how to reflect, monitor and improve the tasks undertaken. At work I work as an individual but also as part of a team. I translate work for the Centre users and I am able to use various community languages; Punjabi, Pahari, Urdu, Hindi and Arabic.


By attending the University of Leeds I have developed good Interpersonal and transferable skills. I undertook a Study Skills Module (which included Presentation, Oral Communication and I.T.) as part of my B.A. (Hons) Combined Arts program. I have learnt to manage my own work load of academic work, work under exam pressure and to meet essay deadlines. I have also acted as a mentor for new students joining the University of Leeds giving them moral support as well as advice on educational procedures. I have also gained useful insight of issues facing students in the Higher Education and have learnt that student life can be a tough one and sometimes they need guidance on Educational, Financial and Welfare Issues.

I am open to new ideas of working and I am expected to adjust to them in my work place and the University. I am continually looking for improvement. During my I.T.A. (Initial Teaching Award) I was given constructive feedback in areas I could improve in, which it I took on board and have worked on since. In turn, I also provided positive feedback about the course which was run as a trial course for the first time at the University; I mentioned the things that went well and things that could be made better for the prospective students. I constantly try to improve my academic performance at the University by trying new ways and ideas of working. If I find something is beneficial, I let my fellow students know as it might also help them.

I work as part of a team at Ikea and at the Centre. I am a good team player and I am courteous towards my colleagues and customers. I strive to keep the moral of the team high as this is vital for the functioning of the sales department, as we rely on it. I attend the departmental meeting in which we discuss any issues raised by the team members and the way forward as agreed by all.

Additional Factors

I can work different hours and I am willing to train further to develop myself. I have my own transport.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Urdu
Additional Languages: Arabic, English (British), Punjabi, Urdu
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of Huddersfield (2010) - Passed (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds Trinity & All Saints (2009) - Pending (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leeds (2009) - 2:2 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Batley English teacher, Batley Arabic teacher, Batley Urdu teacher, Batley Punjabi teacher, Batley Beginner English teacher, Batley Intermediate English teacher, Batley Advanced English teacher, Batley Expert English teacher, Batley Beginner Arabic teacher, Batley Intermediate Arabic teacher, Batley Beginner Urdu teacher, Batley Intermediate Urdu teacher, Batley Advanced Urdu teacher, Batley Expert Urdu teacher, Batley Beginner Punjabi teacher, Batley Intermediate Punjabi teacher