Skip to main content

Information About Peter - Stockport teacher -

Profile Picture

Peter's profile picture

References

This is how 5 referees rated Peter:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price Guide
Beginner £20.00
Intermediate £20.00
Advanced £20.00

Map Location

Map for Peter

Personal Description:

I am 54 years old,married with a 21-year-old daughter.My hobbies include playing table-tennis in a local league,gardening and general reading,For the majority of my early working life,I worked in the Publishing Department of a Trade Organisation,which involved technical translation work and liaising with our offices in Brussels,Paris and Geneva.However,in 1996 I decided that passing on my knowledge and experience to younger students was something I would like to do,and have had the "bug" ever since.I now work part-time as a freelance translator and courier,in addition to tuition.

Teaching Experience:

I started tutoring in 1996,although in the early years I had just one or two students at a time.The majority of these were GCSE students,and that is still the case.Sometimes a Year 10 student comes along,which involves a more long-term,less intense approach,but they are mostly GCSE students trying to obtain the highest possible grade.Since 2002,I have been teaching to 'A'-level,and last academic year my 'A'-level student attained a B-grade,having reached only an E for her mock oral exam,allowing her to go to the university of her choice.

Teaching Approach:

I like to get to know my students and their families(and dogs,since I have two of my own)personally.I recognise that all students are different in terms of character and ability,and I like to think that I tailor my teaching to the needs of each individual.For example,if a student has a particular weakness,that can be worked on immediately in order to instil some confidence in that area.I always request that the student lets me know how they have fared in their exams,and I know that all my six students from last year were pleased with their final results,and I am happy to provide recent references.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Wolverhampton. (1977) - B.A. Degree in English Lit. & French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • University of Neuchatel (1975) - Certificat d'Etudes Francaises (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Stockport French teacher, Stockport Beginner French teacher, Stockport Intermediate French teacher, Stockport Advanced French teacher