Skip to main content

Information About Osla - Durham teacher -

Profile Picture

Osla's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Osla:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price Guide
Beginner £21.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £30.00
Expert £30.00

German

Price Guide
Beginner £21.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £30.00
Expert £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a 34 year old Brit who grew up in the UK (Durham) but I have lived in the French speaking Caribbean and have a BA Hons in French and I have also spent the last 7 years living in Berlin. My German and French conversation are both near fluent, and having translated and dealt with language at business level I have a good understanding of more complicated German. Having studied both subjects at university level, I am aware of the level required at university.

I do believe though, that having fun with the language and using it conversationally to be the most beneficial to language learning and having taught English as a foreign language I have a wide range of experience in language games and fun activities to learn the language, and as a musician and theatre director, enjoy using music and drama as creative tools in language.learning.

Teaching Experience:

I have been working with young people and children for over 15 years: starting at age 15 leading groups of children in nature centre and playing various drama and nature-related games with them. I worked as a private tutor during my time at Leeds university and in my year abroad in the Caribbean, started teaching English as a foreign language, which I continued after my studies in Berlin, and have worked for Berlitz language school as an English teacher and counsellor for the past 6 years, where I also led workshops in various activities and sports, including songwriting and theatre. I have also led a choir.

Earlier this year, I completed a TEFL course, with specific training on one to one lessons where I gained more ideas about fun activities in learning a second language.

Teaching Approach:

I believe it is especially important with language learning for children and young people to see a reason to learn the language: the quickest way is of course immersion: to go to a country, make friends there and have to learn the language- a process which is accelerated if the learner has a friend there they want to communicate with.

In the absence of this, there has to be some connection between the learner and the target language- so where possible I try to find out what the child's interests are and tailor language learning around this (e.g. in a class in which all the boys, loved computer games we designed a real life computer game together) so that they can have fun learning the language. With tutoring, there has to of course be some concentrated grammar learning, which I am of course happy to do but most importantly with practice of the language itself, the grammar start to become second nature.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2013) - TEFL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leeds (2006) - French (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Nottingham- 1 year (2001) - German and Philosphy (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Barnard Castle School (2000) - German and French A-levels (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Durham French teacher, Durham German teacher, Durham Beginner French teacher, Durham Intermediate French teacher, Durham Advanced French teacher, Durham Expert French teacher, Durham Beginner German teacher, Durham Intermediate German teacher, Durham Advanced German teacher, Durham Expert German teacher