Skip to main content

Information About Hiromi - Norwich teacher

Profile Picture

Hiromi's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Hiromi:





Languages Taught


Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi, I’m Mimi. I'm a native Japanese speaker, born and raised in Tokyo. After I moved to Norwich in 2015, I started to teach Japanese as a private tutor for one-to-one / small groups and classroom settings.
I really enjoy discussing topics with my students about their interests, such as culture, travels, food, history and so on. Additionally, in line with my former experiences, I am keen on helping students with dyslexia. We can discuss how you feel and see text and language, and personalise the lessons. Of course, all students are welcome!

Teaching Experience:

I have held a Postgraduate Certificate for Teaching Japanese as a Foreign Language since 2021, and I’ve been teaching Japanese since 2015. I’ve taught students from the age of 12 to 74. They were students, professionals and retired people. I even helped a dyslexic university student who was a major in Japanese and had to retake their exams to pass (which they did).
I worked as a Speech and Language Therapist at hospitals in Japan for over ten years and helped mainly adults who had problems with language, speech, swallowing, memory and other brain dysfunctions. As I used to work for many patients who had language/cognitive problems, I am interested in helping dyslexic people who want to learn Japanese, which requires studying lots of characters. I usually teach Casual/Survival Japanese and also JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test). So, let’s study Japanese together at your own pace!

*I am so sorry but I do not teach Japanese GCSE or A-level because they are not easy for students to access in my area. Also, JLPT is recognised worldwide but unfortunately GCSE and A-level are not recognised in Japan.

Teaching Approach:

I usually use textbooks and always make notes, assessments and lesson plans individually. I am a friendly and very patient teacher, so don’t worry about making mistakes and feel free to ask any questions because Japanese is very different from English! I always like to make lessons fun as well as meaningful.
Currently I am available from 9.30am to 2.30pm on weekdays, mainly online.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Japanese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Institute of International Education London (2021) - Teaching Japanese as a second foreign language (PGCE) (✔ On File)

Tags: Norwich Japanese teacher, Norwich Beginner Japanese teacher, Norwich Intermediate Japanese teacher, Norwich Advanced Japanese teacher