Skip to main content

Information About Laura - Plymouth teacher

Profile Picture

Laura's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Laura:





Languages Taught

Laura offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!


Price Guide
Beginner £15.00
Intermediate £16.00
Advanced £20.00


Price Guide
Beginner £15.00
Intermediate £16.00
Advanced £20.00

Personal Description:

Hi, I'm Laura! I am from Barcelona but I currently live in Portugal.

I am a Biology graduate and I moved to England in 2018 to do a one-year voluntary service as a primate keeper at Wild Futures - The Monkey Sanctuary (Cornwall). It was one of the best experiences of my life and I met incredible people from all over the world. When I finished my volunteering I moved to Dorset where I kept working as an animal keeper for 11 months, so if you are into animals and nature, let's talk! :) Then I moved to Plymouth for 10 months, so I can say I lived in three different British counties!

I enjoy learning languages and love meeting new people. I speak Catalan, Spanish, English and Portuguese (which I am currently studying and improving every day). When I was at uni I also studied some introductory courses of German, French and Italian, so my love for languages dates back to a long time ago. I also like hiking, travelling, watching series and spending time with my family.

Teaching Experience:

During the last year and a half, I've been working in an international school in Portugal, teaching a wide range of subjects. I hold a Master's Degree in Teacher Training (PGCE) and I have over five years of experience within the education field. Besides my job as a teacher, I also worked as an environmental educator. I have created didactic material for secondary school teachers and I have been an invited trainer at an animal care course. I have also carried out different science workshops both in Spain and Peru with the aim to connect kids to nature.

I have taught students of all levels and ages, from 3-year-old kids to adults over 60. I have had students from very different social backgrounds, some of them had just arrived to Barcelona from their native countries so they were struggling to understand Catalan and Spanish, but they improved step by step and became more confident every day.

I volunteered in a primary school in Peru for some months where I taught English to kids and teenagers (beginner level). I have also taught Catalan and Spanish to some of my friends from all over Europe, and helped them with their homework and pronunciation.

Teaching Approach:

I am very organised and very patient with my students. I don't mind explaining things more than once or twice, so don't be afraid to ask!

Holding a conversation is one of the best ways to practice a new language, even if you can only say a few sentences. I'll help you leave the fear of talking behind you! I also have some online resources to learn new vocabulary or grammar structures, but that's up to your learning preferences and your level. We could also play some games, do some Q&A sessions, read and learn about Catalan or Spanish culture… there are so many options!

I understand every student is different and have particular needs and interests, so let me know which are yours!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Catalan
Additional Languages: English (British), Portuguese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of Girona (2017) - MSc in Primatology (First Class) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Pompeu Fabra University (2015) - Master's Degree in Teacher Training in Compulsory Secondary and Upper Secondary School Education, Vocational Training and Languages (PGCE) (1st class) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge English (2015) - C1 (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Barcelona (2014) - BSc (Hons) Degree in Biology (2:1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Plymouth Spanish teacher, Plymouth Catalan teacher, Plymouth Beginner Spanish teacher, Plymouth Intermediate Spanish teacher, Plymouth Advanced Spanish teacher, Plymouth Beginner Catalan teacher, Plymouth Intermediate Catalan teacher, Plymouth Advanced Catalan teacher