Skip to main content

Information About Ruqayyah - London teacher -

Profile Picture

Ruqayyah's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Ruqayyah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Ruqayyah offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

French

Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £25.00
Expert £25.00

Italian

Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £25.00
Expert £25.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £25.00
Expert £25.00

Map Location

Map for Ruqayyah

Personal Description:

Hola, coucou and ciao! My name's Qayya (said 'Kay-er') and I'm a tutor of French, Spanish and Italian☺

My mum moved to the UK from Karachi when she was one. Immersing me in Hindi with Bollywood films, Urdu when cooking and teaching me to read classical Arabic before I'd even reached nursery, it was she who nurtured my love of languages.

After living in Normandy as an au-pair, I studied at the Sorbonne in Paris and later worked as a journalist for Diario SUR in Málaga, Spain. After graduating with a first and distinction in Modern European Languages BA (Hons) from the University of Liverpool in 2015, I began tutoring privately full-time. I'm also a part-time language assistant at a secondary school in Wallasey.

From crab-spotting in a bog in Brittany to witnessing a meteor shower from the tallest peak in the Sierra Nevada, I'm grateful for the opportunities being multilingual has given me to make once in a lifetime memories - I'd love to help you have your own amazing adventures!

BASES AND CALL-OUTS
○ The map shows my main base is in Tower Hamlets but I can also teach in the city centre and I can come to you for a charge of between £1 and £4, depending on your location - send your postcode for a quote!

*IMPORTANT INFORMATION*
○ I give a 50% discount for the first class to help cover the website's fee for my contact details, so your first class is £10, not £20
○ The site makes its money through charging for tutors' details; tutors don't earn from these fees.
○ The site ONLY releases my number, address or email IF you buy them. It also monitors all student-tutor correspondence
○ If we exchange any details, moderators will delete them and terminate our memberships so DON'T ask my details or send me yours!
○ If you're happy to go forward with lessons, buy the details, drop me a line or an email and we'll arrange a half-price lesson at your convenience☺

Teaching Experience:

○ I've taught between the ages of four and 70 in the past five years. It's never too soon or too late to take up a language from scratch or to dust off your skills!
○ Most of my students learn one-to-one but I currently teach five couples, a family of three generations and a class of thirty kids in a school
○ As well as prepping kids for oral, reading, writing and listening exams at GCSE, 'AS' and 'A2' level (WJEC, AQA, OCR and EDEXCEL) I also teach KS2 and KS3
○ I've prepared students for exams with the following boards:
○ I've also provided workshops and corrective services for students with exams and coursework at university level from £10, depending on the coursework
○ I also teach two students, each with moderate to severe dyslexia so I tailor classes for them by focusing on phonics
○ Whether you want to relocate/travel, to learn for work or for your kids to have a stab at becoming bilingual, I tailor your classes to your needs and goals

Teaching Approach:

As I hope is clear, I'm not your average tutor! I like to think the balance I achieve between flexible, approachable, structured and encouraging presents a style that will put any student at ease, regardless of age, ability or aims - trust, enjoyment and comfort are key in learning any discipline effectively.

I always tailor classes to your aims, strengths, weaknesses, how you learn effectively as an individual and what you're going to use your language skills for, but I also structure classes to help you leave understanding what you've learnt, where improvement is needed and most importantly, feeling accomplished.

I like to vary my materials (everything from grammar drills to flash cards, mnemonics and past papers), depending on whether you learn visually, audibly or kinaesthetically. I also think language-learning should be challenging and engaging as well as fun and rewarding, so I use feedback sheets to ensure student satisfaction and to help students identify a change in teaching style if one is needed.

For those sitting exams or looking to boost their grades, I'm familar with WJEC, AQA, OCR and EDEXCEL. I can prepare you for oral, writing, reading and listening exams by using a variety of materials, especially past papers. I can either comprehensively cover all key areas or focus intensively on any one of the following: the necessary components of grammar, grammar constructions, topic-specific vocabulary, comprehension, pronunciation (accent, stress). I also provide handy tips to impress examiners (polishing off punctuation, throwing in idioms and expressions, adding appropriate non-lexical utterances to fill pauses, complex grammar constructions, specialised vocab etc).

For more informal improvement in conversation skills or for more focus on business and work-related language use, I can provide similar assistance in a more relaxed structure, as well as articles, news or other materials of your interest to discuss in your chosen language.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Arabic, French, Hindi, Portuguese, Spanish, Urdu
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Liverpool (2015) - Modern European Languages (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: London French teacher, London Italian teacher, London Spanish teacher, London Beginner French teacher, London Intermediate French teacher, London Advanced French teacher, London Expert French teacher, London Beginner Italian teacher, London Intermediate Italian teacher, London Advanced Italian teacher, London Expert Italian teacher, London Beginner Spanish teacher, London Intermediate Spanish teacher, London Advanced Spanish teacher, London Expert Spanish teacher