Skip to main content

Information About Joss - Camden teacher -

Profile Picture

Joss's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Joss:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price Guide
Beginner £35.00
Intermediate £35.00

German

Price Guide
Beginner £35.00
Intermediate £35.00
Advanced £35.00

English

Price Guide
Beginner £35.00
Intermediate £35.00
Advanced £35.00
Expert £35.00

Russian

Price Guide
Beginner £35.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello! I’m Joss, I’m a teacher, tutor and meditation practitioner. I graduated in German and Russian from the University of Cambridge in 2016 and since then I've worked as a translator in Germany, an English teacher in Vietnam and in the conference industry in the UK.

I love learning and speaking foreign languages - the rhythmic poetry of German, the passionate music of Russian, the exquisite elegance of French sounds. Learning languages has been for me a way to connect with people from other parts of the world, and to understand something of where they come from, of how they think. It gives me great joy to support students as they grow into their mastery of a new language.

In my free time I enjoy singing, painting, acting and self-development. I love connecting with new people and exploring the world through experience.

I’m offering online tuition at this time because of the lockdown. After that, we can continue online or, if geography allows, we can transfer to face-to-face. I look forward to hearing from you!

Teaching Experience:

I'm a CELTA qualified EFL instructor and have around 700+ hours classroom experience comprising 121 tutorials as well as class work. I've tutored IELTS prep, CAE, German and Maths 1-on-1. My experience teaching English on summer camps has taught me the importance of centering the learning experience around fun and confidence boosting. I particularly loved helping my peers gain the confidence to work through mathematical problems at GCSE and A-level, and look forward to helping you too!

Teaching Approach:

As I've learned from my own experience as a learner, rapport breeds confidence. Through establishing a supportive and trusting relationship with my tutees I aim to help them build the confidence to self-motivate and work towards their own goals. I firmly believe that we have all have the capacity within us to achieve what we want to achieve; so an important part of my role as a tutor is to accompany the learner on their own journey, which might involve helping the tutee get to grips with strategies and approaches to more effectively express their ideas. Nothing gives me greater satisfaction than to help my tutees develop academically and as people. So I want to hear from you what your needs are, and look forward to our first meeting.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Stafford House (2017) - CELTA (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2016) - German and Russian (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys (2012) - A-Level French (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Camden French teacher, Camden German teacher, Camden English teacher, Camden Russian teacher, Camden Beginner French teacher, Camden Intermediate French teacher, Camden Beginner German teacher, Camden Intermediate German teacher, Camden Advanced German teacher, Camden Beginner English teacher, Camden Intermediate English teacher, Camden Advanced English teacher, Camden Expert English teacher, Camden Beginner Russian teacher