Skip to main content

Information About Henry - Cottingham teacher

Profile Picture

Henry's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Henry:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price Guide
Advanced £20.00

German

Price Guide
Advanced £20.00

Map Location

Map for Henry

Personal Description:

Hello, I'm Henry and I am currently studying French and German at the university of Cambridge. My favourite thing about this degree is the literature and cultural studies which means that I can read the book and watch the films that have had significant cultural impact on French and German speaking countries. As well as this, I find the political and current events discussions very interesting as I can talk about the world events that are equally affecting these countries and their relation to Britain. Exams are hard and I wish to be helpful in any way whether that be a few top-up sessions or a long term tutoring plan. I am willing to help for university applications as well, especially Oxbridge applications, but I will also try to help for any queries relating to UCAS i.e. personal statements. At university I play the saxophone in both my college jazz orchestra as well as my University Wind Orchestra, which I am social secretary of. I also attend extra-curricular Ukrainian classes and write for a student newspaper. Next year I will be taking part in a cultural exchange to Italy where I will be studying near Milan for a year before returning to Cambridge to continue my studies.

Teaching Experience:

In the past I have been able to teach the clarinet as well as helping other students out when it came to examination periods. Either tutoring music or languages I will be careful to centre the session around the needs of the student in order to get the best results and progress.

Teaching Approach:

I will be ready to help tutees in any way possible, whether that be through pinpointing specific areas within a subject that they find difficult or indeed giving a general overview of that subject. For those who want to study languages I will give a grounding in the four major skills when learning a language i.e. reading, writing, listening and speaking in order to really improve the tutees knowledge of that language. Additionally, I will also teach vocabulary and grammar so that I can give a really good basis for if the tutee wants to study the language at either A level or university. For those wanting to study English literature I will focus on textual analysis and how to look for deeper meanings within a text, as well as concentrating on the texts that are being studied for exams or in class. My sessiosn will be focussed on the student and what they need to do in order to make improvements within the subject, from recapping past work to working on new material.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Wyke Sixth Form College (2017) - A Level French - A* (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wyke Sixth Form College (2017) - A Level German - A* (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Cottingham French teacher, Cottingham German teacher, Cottingham Advanced French teacher, Cottingham Advanced German teacher