Skip to main content

Information About Federica - Muswell Hill teacher -

Profile Picture

Federica's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Federica:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

English

Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00

Italian

Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00
Expert £30.00

Map Location

Map for Federica

Personal Description:

Hello, I am Federica and I am an English and Italian tutor with a degree in English Literature and Creative writing from Royal Holloway University.
I am an Italian native speaker and I have lived in London for ten years. I have been employed as a private teacher, translator, interpreter and youth worker.

PLEASE NOTE: out of personal reasons, I only tutor women and children/teenagers.
24 HOUR CANCELLATION POLICY: if a lesson is cancelled less than 24 hours before the scheduled time, the full fee will still be charged.
TRAVELLING ARRANGEMENTS: if travelling to the student, an extra £5 will be charged for transport.

Teaching Experience:

I started tutoring students in Italian and English at beginner, intermediate and university level when completing my studies at Royal Holloway, in 2009. I taught British students Italian grammar and literature, helped them practise conversation and write essays, and coached them for language and literature exams.
Since 2009, I have privately taught English to Italian students for two years in London as well as in a private institution in Italy (Nove Muse School) for three months in 2010, coaching them for Cambridge PET (Preliminary English Test) and IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exams.
I have worked as a translator for five years, translating a wide range of texts in the scientific and literary field such as: sociology, engineering and medical Ph.D. thesises and research projects, dissertations, poetry, fiction, drama pieces and travel guides from Italian into English and English into Italian.
I have been employed as guide and interpreter at the Pompei archaelogical site in 2009 by the Liceo Classico 'Bernardino Telesio'.
In July 2011, through the Travel Movement Company I have been involved in an experimental teaching project, which aimed at teaching 11-18 year old foreign students English outside the classroom and around London, so as to give pupils a chance to learn about how the language is used in everyday situations as well as teaching them about the city and its history. I tutored an intermediate level group of 25 students for two weeks, taking them around London and assigning them tasks which would make it necessary for them to use the language.
In the first half of the year I have tutored foreign students in English by helping them practise conversation at beginner and intermediate levels.
I am currently teaching two British adult learners Italian, both grammar and conversation, as well as coaching a foreign student for IELTS.

Teaching Approach:

I have both a rigorous and creative approach to teaching, aimed at strengthening the learning abilities of pupils and helping them recognize and improve their weaknesses. I am patient and I like creating a learning context which is a mutual exchange of knowledge, thus encouraging the students to make their own contribution to the study sessions by bringing material which might make them feel more comfortable and familiar with the subject. In the past, I have often used music, newspapers, magazines, extracts from literary texts to teach English to foreign students, a method which helped them to consolidate their knowledge of grammar and language by observing its practical and everyday use. My students found this teaching approach very useful and gratifying, as it helped them contextualise their knowledge and not only learn about abstract concepts.
My method is also based on offering a good balance between theory and practice, and help the students manage their own study time and build a productive study technique. I place much importance on the acquisition of self confidence: I found in my experience that often the biggest difficulty encountered by students is the trust in their own abilities and potential.
Depending on the level and needs of each student, I create an individual study programme which enables them to focus on the aspect of a subject they must improve or refine. A wise use of time is one of the key factors to a student's academic success, and my tuitions also aim at organizing the student's knowlege so that s/he might succeed at managing it and gain satisfaction from his/her results. I provide some learning material for students at every session. I am passionate about the subjects I teach and always strive to help the students achieve their best and fully develop their potential.

Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Royal Holloway University of London (2009) - 2:1 BA English Literature and Creative Writing (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Liceo Classico 'Bernardino Telesio' (2005) - Classical Studies High School Diploma (Italy) (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Muswell Hill English teacher, Muswell Hill Italian teacher, Muswell Hill Beginner English teacher, Muswell Hill Intermediate English teacher, Muswell Hill Advanced English teacher, Muswell Hill Beginner Italian teacher, Muswell Hill Intermediate Italian teacher, Muswell Hill Advanced Italian teacher, Muswell Hill Expert Italian teacher