Skip to main content

Information About Effie - Barnsbury teacher

Profile Picture

Effie's profile picture


This is how 7 referees rated Effie:





Languages Taught


Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00
Expert £30.00

Greek (Modern)

Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00
Expert £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

A Lecturer in Classics, holding a PhD from the University of Reading, following my MA in Classics from UCL, as well as an experienced tutor. I have always been keen on teaching. My father is a teacher as well and I think that it is a talent which I inherited from him. The fact that I am a native Greek speaker has been a great asset as I am in the position to understand the mechanics and use of language within a Greek context. On the other hand, my English schooling, along with the Greek, as well as the fact that I have lived, studied and taught in England for the past 7 years has enabled me to reach a proficient level of knowledge of the English language, both academic and conversational. I am fond of teaching because it helped me prove that I can be useful to other people who need me and that has offered me the greatest pleasure and satisfaction. The fact that I have studied and learned languages since I was little has developed a special love for the object of my work and thus I am always in a good mood when teaching and also very patient. In addition, working with people all these years has helped me to find out I get along well with different types of people. As a result, I have discovered that everyone can learn something that might appear tough if you have the right way and so far I have been able to find the right way in every case.

Teaching Experience:

I have been teaching since the time I graduated from high school, which was in 2006. I have worked as a tutor with all age groups ranging from 6 to 62 years old and at all levels of difficulty. Other than tutoring I have also taught at a local community School in London and since 2014 I have worked as a lecturer at the University of Winchester and the University of Reading. Among the various modules I have taught at these institutions are Greek and Latin to an English speaking audience.

Teaching Approach:

The prime characteristic of my tutoring method is flexibility and adaptability to the tutee's needs. There are certain standards regarding the material and the amount of work that has to be done, but judging from my experience so far it is always possible to arrange them so that they suit both myself and my tutee. I am familiar with the syllabus of OCR and I am also using AQA's past papers when suitable. Frequently, a combination of the two gives the desirable result. I am always happy to discuss any further questions regarding my teaching methods or anything else.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Greek (Modern)
Additional Languages: Italian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of Reading (2018) - PhD in Classics (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • National College of Teaching and Leadership (2017) - Qualified Teacher: Under the EC Directive (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College London (2012) - 2:1 MA in Classics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Patras, Greece (2010) - 2:1 BA in Classical Philology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Barnsbury English teacher, Barnsbury Greek (Modern) teacher, Barnsbury Beginner English teacher, Barnsbury Intermediate English teacher, Barnsbury Advanced English teacher, Barnsbury Expert English teacher, Barnsbury Beginner Greek (Modern) teacher, Barnsbury Intermediate Greek (Modern) teacher, Barnsbury Advanced Greek (Modern) teacher, Barnsbury Expert Greek (Modern) teacher