Skip to main content

Information About Cosima - Wallasey teacher

Profile Picture

Cosima's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Cosima:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £25.00£22.50
Intermediate £27.00£24.30

German

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £25.00£22.50
Intermediate £27.00£24.30
Advanced £30.00£27.00
Expert £30.00£27.00

Spanish

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £25.00£22.50
Intermediate £27.00£24.30

Greek (Modern)

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £25.00£22.50
Intermediate £27.00£24.30

Map Location

Map for Cosima

Personal Description:

I am a native German speaker, but have lived in the UK for 23 years - after coming here to study for A-Levels, I completed my B.A. (joint honours) degree in Ancient History and Archaeology and researched towards a Ph.D.
Through travelling extensively, I have had many opportunities to study the languages of the countries I have visited. This, combined with my passion for knowledge & learning and my extensive teaching experience over the last 17 years, has given me great insight into the different approaches to learning a language. Through my studies in Adult Learner Support, Anatomy & Physiology, Herbal Medicine and Nutritional Advice, I have learned to appreciate each human being as a whole and take a holistic apoproach to learning, taking into consideration any additional challenges a learner might face and utilising each learner's individual strengths.
Since the births of my daughters (in 2007 & 2010), I am enjoying the adventure of discovering knowledge with my children - by teaching them, but also by learning from them, especially about how we learn and the importance of the way in which we learn.

Teaching Experience:

since 2013 - Volunteer Teaching Assistant, Key Stage 2 (year 3), Mount Primary School, New Brighton.
since 1999 - Private Tutor, teaching German (all levels), French (beginners to GCSE), Spanish (beginners to GCSE), Greek (beginners to intermediate, for holidays and emigration), English/Literacy (beginners to GCSE), English as a foreign language (beginners to postgraduates), English to speakers of other languages (also at Wirral Metropolitan College, beginners to degree level), Maths/Numeracy (beginners to Key Stage 2 / age 11 and Key Skills for Adults), History (beginners to A-Level), Science (beginners to GCSE) and Geography (beginners to Key Stage 2 / age 11), Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning (for 11+ Grammar School entrance exams).
1995-2000 - Assistant Language Teacher for German A-Level and AS-Level, Carmel College, St. Helens
Since 1994 - private tuition to postgraduates in German for academic purposes.
I have taught learners of all ages, from 4 years old (German, French & Spanish) to 84 years old (political Geography), at very varied levels of ability (high achievers as well as special educational needs / additional learning needs), including learners with autism / ASD, attention deficit / ADD, hyperactivity / ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia… dyscalculia, cerebral palsy, visual/hearing impairment, behavioural problems, etc.

Teaching Approach:

Learning should be fun!
We all learn so much better when we are enjoying ourselves and the learning stays with us longer, being easier to apply and transfer to different situations.
For me, the great advantage in one-to-one tuition and teaching small groups lies in being able to tailor the lessons to each individual's needs, as well as their individual strengths and weaknesses at any given time, even within any one lesson. I carefully assess the learner's current situation and accordingly adjust the material I present them with.
Since I take a holistic approach to life in general, and therefore to learning as well, I pride myself in being flexible about planning my lessons to suit the learner's needs and if a learner fails to understand my first explanation, then it is not their fault, but my duty to find a different way of explaining the material.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: German
Additional Languages: English (British), French, German, Greek (Modern), Italian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • VTVC / Wirral Metropolitan College (2010) - Level 3 Diploma in non-medical nutritional advice (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Central Lancashire, Preston (2009) - First year of BSc Herbal Medicine (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • City & Guilds / Wirral Metropolitan Colgege (2008) - Level 2 Certificate in adult learner support (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Liverpool (1994) - BA (joint honours) Ancient History & Archaeology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wallasey French teacher, Wallasey German teacher, Wallasey Spanish teacher, Wallasey Greek (Modern) teacher, Wallasey Beginner French teacher, Wallasey Intermediate French teacher, Wallasey Beginner German teacher, Wallasey Intermediate German teacher, Wallasey Advanced German teacher, Wallasey Expert German teacher, Wallasey Beginner Spanish teacher, Wallasey Intermediate Spanish teacher, Wallasey Beginner Greek (Modern) teacher, Wallasey Intermediate Greek (Modern) teacher