Skip to main content

Information About Charles - Chelsea teacher -

Profile Picture

Charles's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Charles:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

English

Price Guide
Beginner £50.00
Intermediate £50.00
Advanced £50.00
Expert £50.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Beginner £50.00
Intermediate £50.00
Advanced £50.00

Map Location

Map for Charles

Personal Description:

My name is Charlie and I've been teaching English and Spanish for a long time! I have taught GSCE English Language and Literature in state schools and have also taught in a private prep school. I've taught TEFL around the world and ran my own language school for several years in the UK. I have also written a self-study Spanish course (a book with two audio CDs) called 'Spanish with Carlos' and an English study book entitled 'A Sense of English'. I love teaching people individually and in small groups. I'm 44 years old and I'm kind, patient and friendly. I enjoy reading, creative writing and some sports. I absolutely love London and in recent years have devoted a lot of my holiday time to exploring the unending wonders of this amazing city.

Teaching Experience:

I set up and ran my own language school in the UK in the late 1990s. The focus was on private and small group tuition of both English as a foreign language and Spanish. I've also lived and worked in Hungary (one year), Spain (three years) and South Korea (one year) as a TEFL teacher. My last job was in Turkey, where I worked as the Assistant Head of the English Department in the country's top private school (TED Ankara College). In my final year there I was also the 7th Grade English Exam Writer. I was also the official proof-reader of the other exams. I worked at TED College for five years and have just returned to the UK.

Teaching Approach:

My years of experience help me gauge the needs of my students and tailor an appropriate study programme for them. For students of Spanish with little or no prior knowledge of the language, I encourage the use of my course 'Spanish with Carlos'. I give all my students a free copy of this. I then use a range of supplementary material that over the years I have written myself. I select the material depending on individual needs. In this way, specific problems that different students might have can be addressed more fully, so that his/her learning process flows at the pace that suits them. With English teaching, it is the same. I have a range of material that I have written myself over the years that cover all levels and abilities. I'm also fully familiar with the National Curriculum requirements for both English Language and Literature and also Spanish through the different 'Key Stages'.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • International TEFL and TESOL Training (2010) - TEFL Certificate (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Open University (2009) - 2:1 International Studies and Spanish (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Chelsea English teacher, Chelsea Spanish teacher, Chelsea Beginner English teacher, Chelsea Intermediate English teacher, Chelsea Advanced English teacher, Chelsea Expert English teacher, Chelsea Beginner Spanish teacher, Chelsea Intermediate Spanish teacher, Chelsea Advanced Spanish teacher