Skip to main content

Information About Carey - Wallsend teacher

Profile Picture

Carey's profile picture

Languages Taught

French

Price Guide
Advanced £15.00

English

Price Guide
Expert £20.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Intermediate £12.00

Map Location

Map for Carey

Personal Description:

NOTE: I am currently on my year abroad to improve my language skills further and will return in June 2013. Thank you.

My name is Carey , I am 21 years-old and am currently studying for my BA Hons degree at University of Sunderland. I study French and Spanish (ab. initio) as a dual degree (which means that both subjects are equally-weighted.) I have been studying French for around 9 years and received an A at GCSE and a B at A-level. I have only been studying Spanish since I started at university, but I feel that my knowledge of French has allowed me to absorb and pick up the language quickly and efficiently.

After university, I plan on applying to do a PGCE course and go into teaching, so I feel that tutoring would be helping me as much as it would be helping others studying the same subjects.

In my spare time I enjoy reading and writing in English, French and Spanish and I keep an allotment with my boyfriend and a couple of friends. Further pastimes include painting, knitting and cooking.

Teaching Experience:

Although I have, so far, had little teaching experience I feel that I am confident enough in both subjects to tutor the ages I have specified. Last June (2012) I completed a two-week placement with Burnside High School in Wallsend for my "Students as Tutors" module at university; this entailed observing lessons, helping with full-class tasks and carrying out small tutoring tasks along the way. I feel that this placement improved my tutoring skills substantially as I was gaining first-hand experience in a teaching environment.

Furthermore, last April (2012) I tutored a student for their GCSE written Spanish exam, which I again felt improved my tutoring skills further because I was able to gain experience in giving one-to-one tutoring.

Teaching Approach:

Through studying how languages are learned at university (in a module entitled "Psychology of Language Learning"), I am aware that it is important to provide a pupil with wide range of materials and resources, authentic and from the textbook, and to centre the focus on the work which is provided by the school/course curriculum. When tutoring, I will ensure to cover and help with the work that the school/course has provided, whilst also helping the student to work out their strengths and also which aspects of the language they need to focus on more.

I am patient and friendly and, as I am still a student myself, I feel that I will be able to understand and relate to the people I will be tutoring. I feel that it is important to provide a student with a friendly, trustworthy relationship whilst also remaining professional.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Tyne Metropolitan College (2010) - Grade B at A-Level French (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Tyne Metropolitan College (2010) - Grade B at A-Level English Language (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • John Spence Community High School (2007) - Grade A at GCSE French (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • John Spence Community High School (2007) - Grade A at GCSE English Language (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wallsend French teacher, Wallsend English teacher, Wallsend Spanish teacher, Wallsend Advanced French teacher, Wallsend Expert English teacher, Wallsend Intermediate Spanish teacher