Skip to main content

Information About Arthur - Notting Hill teacher

Profile Picture

Arthur's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Arthur:





Languages Taught


Price Guide
Beginner £15.00
Intermediate £18.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello there! My name is Arthur , and i'm born and bred in London, the capital of the United Kingdom. Having recently completed and received a 2:1 Bachelor's degree in Philosophy from the University of Manchester, I felt ready to embark on my next adventure, which I decided would be teaching! I've always loved to travel, to explore new cultures and languages and to connect with new people from all corners of the globe. I think this is why I am so passionate about ESL teaching as it is a way for me to feel as if i am travelling, by meeting and bonding with people from around the globe. I feel like I gain great satisfaction from meeting people of different cultures, and as a native English speaker I feel that I can reciprocate this experience by helping people learn my language.

When I was 19, I went on my gap year to Japan for three months all on my own. This was a very formative experience for me. Living in this country with no knowledge of the language and on my own at a fairly young age was challenging but ultimately extremely worthwhile. It reinforced my love of travel and experiencing new languages and cultures. It was then that i knew that I would never be satisfied only seeing life through a single lens, and instead i realised i wanted to see what the world had to offer. When i'm not travelling or teaching I love playing guitar and watching classic movies, and I have developed a particular love for Korean cinema. In fact it was in Japan that i taught myself to play guitar, and so I have a particular connection between my music and travel.

I hope I sound like the right person for you and I can't wait to meet you and get started on this English language journey!

Teaching Experience:

I have roughly a year of both private tutor work as well as working for a short time in a private school in West London and i have always found it extremely rewarding. I have also completed my CELTA certificate in December of last year, which gave me even more experience and a much better understanding of ESL teaching in particular.

I then worked for 6 months for Whales English, an online platform dedicated to ESL teaching with lessons everyday, which really helped me hone my craft

Teaching Approach:

When completing my CELTA course, I slowly discovered more of what my particular style of teaching is, and I realised that for me the most important thing when teaching is one's rapport with their students. If you and the students can get along well and understand each other, it makes it far easier to engage and learn during the lessons. This is a particular strength of mine I believe and was commented on by my CELTA teachers in my lesson feedbacks.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Stafford House (2020) - CELTA (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Manchester (2020) - 2:1 Philosophy (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Notting Hill English teacher, Notting Hill Beginner English teacher, Notting Hill Intermediate English teacher