Skip to main content

Information About Vtutor - Ottawa tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Vtutor:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Math

Price Guide
Early Development $22.00
Elementary $22.00
Secondary $22.00
College / University $22.00
Casual $22.00

Chinese

Price Guide
Early Development $22.00
Elementary $22.00
Secondary $22.00
College / University $22.00
Casual $22.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am an Electrical Engineering with a Masters of Applied Science in Electromagnetics. I specialize in tutoring mathematics and Chinese (Mandarin). I am currently a full-time hardware engineer working in the Telecommunications sector.

My credentials with mathematics trace back to high school years. I was awarded first place in many mathematics competitions, such as Euclid, Caley, and Fermat. By invitation, I competed in the Canadian Olympiad, which is a pre-requisite for the International Mathematics Olympic competition. Although I was invited by the department of pure mathematics at the University of Waterloo, I decided to pursue Electrical Engineering degree at University of Waterloo, the best Engineering school in Canada.

During the undergraduate studies, mathematics remained my strong deed. It allowed me to establish a solid foundation for all subjects in electrical engineering, such as Electromagnetics. After graduating from Waterloo, I continued research studies in Electromagnetics towards a Master’s degree at the University of Toronto. Again, mathematics was the basis for digital communications, statistics and probability, electromagnetic modeling, and radio-frequency circuit and antenna design.

I am currently working in the telecommunications industry. My focus is on signal integrity of high speed circuit design. Mathematics is the basis of all modeling analyses that I perform on a daily basis.

I was born and raised in Beijing, the capital of China. Chinese (Mandarin) was my native language. Having been in Beijing, I was also privileged to speak accent-free Mandarin. Chinese was always my strong subject in school. Even after I immigrated to Canada after graduating from junior high school, I never forgot communicating my native language with my folks at home.

Tutoring Experience:

Coincidentally, I started tutoring back in high school. Because of my strength in mathematics, I was the go-to person for all math related questions from my circle of friends. I often sat with friends after school to help them solve math problems. As an immigrant who integrated in a French high school near the end of high school years, tutoring helped me make friends and build many long-lasting friendships.

In undergraduate school, I was again the go-to person for almost every subject. I often helped classmates solve their problems starting by explained to them the basic theorems or concepts. I understood the importance of understanding, not simply providing answers.

My tutoring experiences continued throughout graduate school. I tutored an undergraduate student in various subjects including Probability, Calculus, and Electromagnetics. After one year of tutoring, the student not only improved in her academic performance, but also her self-confidence. Meanwhile, I taught undergraduate classes as a teaching assistant in subjects such as Calculus and Electromagnetics. As always, I promoted understanding in combination with practice. For example, I always reviewed concept prior to solving problems. My students found my explanation informative, clear, and helpful. They enjoyed learning from me as much as I enjoyed teaching.

Since 2012, I have been making short videocasts to teach young children Mandarin. Check out my videocasts on the Children Learn Mandarin Videocast page at **Web Address Removed** .

This is a brief overview about myself. If you are interested in booking a tutoring session, drop me a line at **E-mail Address Removed** .

Tutoring Approach:

I strive for quality, simplicity, and long-term achievement by combining concepts, examples, and exercise into one holistic approach.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Chinese
Additional Languages: English, French
Availability: Weekends
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Toronto (2006) - M.A.Sc. (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Waterloo (2004) - B.A. in Electrical Engineering (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ottawa Math tutor, Ottawa Chinese tutor, Ottawa Early Development Math tutor, Ottawa Elementary Math tutor, Ottawa Secondary Math tutor, Ottawa College / University Math tutor, Ottawa Casual Math tutor, Ottawa Early Development Chinese tutor, Ottawa Elementary Chinese tutor, Ottawa Secondary Chinese tutor, Ottawa College / University Chinese tutor, Ottawa Casual Chinese tutor