Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Information About Tess

Burlington tutor
 

Personal Description:

Hi, I'm Tess.

I have an honours degree in English Literature with a heavy emphasis on Cultural Studies and some forays into creative writing.

I have a master's degree in Gender Studies and Feminist Research (more cultural studies).

Basically, I can write essays in my sleep and got straight A's in philosophy because I love a good argument. I love to look at every side of an argument and I've lived most sides of them too.

I'm also a singer songwriter, am writing a book, and I do improv in my spare time and I love to apply improv and coaching skills to all teaching and tutoring I do.

Life long learning is a passion of mine, as is creativity. I'm excited to help others find enjoyment in it also.

Tutoring Experience:

I've long been the go to person to help friends and acquaintances with essay writing. My friends started coming to me around age 17 for help with essays, and the same year I worked in high schools facilitating circles for suicide intervention and prevention. I continued supporting writing skills informally into and through university and then went to teach English (language) in Japan in 2005.

In my twenties I created a business for myself of freelance editing and copy-writing and I still continue that loosely to this day - mostly for travel brochures and once in a while I'll edit a novel.

During my M.A. I was a teaching assistant to two wonderful professors and loved hearing about how well I illustrated a point for my students.

At the moment I am supporting two friends with their essay writing through graduate school, while being a stay at home single parent. Helping these friends was actually the catalyst for me deciding to tutor again.

I've been coaching and mentoring (with a life skills coaching certificate) for the last 3 years but enjoy the variety of multiple projects in my life.

Tutoring Approach:

I want to help you reach your own goals. Whether it's an emotional charge ("not good enoughness" or "perfectionism") getting in your way or simply the hard skills of grammar and sentence structure, I am there to support you through it and help you learn how you can support your natural learning style for life.

I see myself as in support of you getting YOUR voice out into the world; unless your goal is simply to get this damn essay done and handed in, in which case we'll just get right down to it together, hand in hand (figuratively speaking).

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Rhodes Wellness College (2017) - Life Skills Coaching Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • McMaster University (2015) - M.A. Gender Studies and Feminist Research (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • McMaster University (2003) - Hons. B.A. English and German (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Burlington English tutor, Burlington Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Burlington Secondary English tutor, Burlington College / University English tutor, Burlington Casual English tutor, Burlington Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Burlington College / University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Burlington Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now