Skip to main content

Information About Safiya - Vancouver tutor -

Profile Picture

Safiya's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Safiya:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Early Development $22.00

French

Price Guide
Elementary $22.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Elementary $22.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a student at the University of British Columbia, currently pursuing a Bachelor of Arts with the aim to major in International Relations. I am enthusiastic about foreign languages as a means of self-expression and communication for far-reaching topics.
I have been studying French for 8 years and Spanish for 5 years. Over the years, I have grown very fond of the diversity of these languages and their respective cultures. To be precise, I am at the advanced intermediate level in both languages. This is the B1 level, based on the DELF and DELE criteria. My knowledge of the two languages has been helpful in making strategic correlations between Spanish and French. I have also done French immersion twice through the Explore program in 2017, in Trois Pistoles, and in 2018 in Charlevoix, Quebec. Both times I was in an advanced class.
I look forward to sharing my knowledge of the Spanish and French language to my prospective students. Moreover, I aspire to pass on my passion for these languages as they are of great significance in our rapidly evolving world.

Tutoring Experience:

I have volunteered as a French tutor for children for four months at the Port Credit Library in Mississauga through their Reading Buddies Program. I closely assisted students in Elementary School to become familiar with reading in French through guiding them while reading and playing educational board and computer games. This experience has been foundational for me to teach French and Spanish as a second language as I developed the patience and strategies for guiding, rather than simply instructing, young students.

In December 2018, I volunteered as English teacher in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia through Emerging Voices and IVHQ. I taught full-time for 2 weeks to people of all ages. I had one class of adults whom I taught at a church, and another of children at a community centre. This was an incredible cultural and educational experience for myself and my students. I am grateful for this opportunity because I saw just how much education can touch lives.

Tutoring Approach:

Truly understanding a language is a skill which is acquired overtime. I believe that everyone has the potential to learn a foreign language.
My approach to tutoring is to be a supportive guide to my students. I aim to create an environment in which they are comfortable in so they may succeed in learning a language that they are not entirely familiar with. I am gentle with correcting my students and I aspire to encourage them continuously since many students feel shy or uncertain about how to carry about studying a foreign language.
Sessions will comprise of assisted writing, listening and speaking practice, in addition to notes which will help the student when I am not present. I will custom my lessons to suit the student I am guiding. I am open to taking suggestions from students and parents as my goal is to serve my students in their pursuit of foreign language acquisition.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: French, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of British Columbia (2018) - Bachelor of Arts (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Centre Linguistique du Collège de Jonquière (2018) - French immersion (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Western University (2017) - French immersion (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Vancouver English tutor, Vancouver French tutor, Vancouver Spanish tutor, Vancouver Early Development English tutor, Vancouver Elementary French tutor, Vancouver Elementary Spanish tutor