Skip to main content

Information About Russell - Quinte West tutor

Profile Picture

Russell's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Russell:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Russell offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Price Guide
Early Development $25.00
Elementary $25.00
Secondary $25.00

ESL

Price Guide
Casual $25.00

Learning Disabilities

Price Guide
Early Development $25.00
Elementary $25.00
Secondary $25.00
Casual $25.00

Sports

Price Guide
Secondary $20.00
College / University $20.00
Casual $20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello there. I am originally from the UK, just outside of London, and have now been living and working in Ontario for the last five years. I have a diverse work experience and have traveled extensively around the world, including work in East Asia. I am 36 years old and have a friendly, personable nature and enjoy learning about other people as well as them learning from me. I have recently qualified as a Rehabilitation Assistant and this is the field I work in whilst teaching English as a side line.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English in a private summer school in Lianyungang, China. My students ranged in age from 6 yrs to 21 yrs old. The focus of this teaching was verbal communication skills (English as a second language) and confidence building.I was responsible for lesson planning and preparation and also setting end of semester exams. Classes normally contained around 20 students.
I was also responsible for setting up an 'English club' for foreign workers at a previous place of work in London and conducted lessons there for one month during lunch breaks. Most recently I have been tutoring a 12 year old boy and a 10 year old girl (just over one year). The boy has mild dyslexia so we have been working on his spelling and sentence structure and also reading and comprehension.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a firm believer of a measured pace to teaching/tutoring and ensure that my students fully understand concepts, meanings etc before moving on. Although I do use a lot of reinforcement in my learning in terms of repetition I try to keep things fresh and fun as much as possible to keep the student engaged. I will sometimes use games in a way to reinforce a teaching point if I think this will help the students understanding. I also like to get know a bit about my students first and vice versa before diving straight into tutoring as I feel this can put the student at ease and make them more responsive to my teaching methods. It helps me if the student or the parents of the student have learning objectives in mind to make our time together as productive as possible.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Durham College (2016) - Diploma physiotherapy/Occupational Therapy Assistant (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Fitness Industry Education (2012) - Personal Trainer (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • TEFL (2000) - TEFL (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Barnet College (2000) - Media, Communication and Production (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Quinte West English tutor, Quinte West ESL tutor, Quinte West Learning Disabilities tutor, Quinte West Sports tutor, Quinte West Early Development English tutor, Quinte West Elementary English tutor, Quinte West Secondary English tutor, Quinte West Casual ESL tutor, Quinte West Early Development Learning Disabilities tutor, Quinte West Elementary Learning Disabilities tutor, Quinte West Secondary Learning Disabilities tutor, Quinte West Casual Learning Disabilities tutor, Quinte West Secondary Sports tutor, Quinte West College / University Sports tutor, Quinte West Casual Sports tutor