Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Information About Rayna

Ottawa tutor
 

References

This is how 3 referees rated Rayna:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a recent graduate of the Bachelor of Education program from York University in the Primary/Junior Division (grades JK/SK- grade 6). I have a child and youth care diploma and a sociology degree as well. My passion is to work with children; to help them grow, learn and become confident in themselves through and within their every day lives. I love arts and crafts, science experiments, nature and riddles/word problems. I am determined, creative, hard working and am always up for a challenge! I really like to see children become excited about learning, to find that spark in them that makes them bright eyed and excited. So excited in fact that it makes them want to learn more! I am able to speak, read and write in Hungarian, I studied French for a few years and American Sign Language for two years.

Tutoring Experience:

This would be my first tutoring experience, however I have lots of experience working in class with students. I have been a 'Big Sister' to twelve 'Littles' through a school placement with Big Brothers Big Sisters Ottawa and worked on social skills. The social skills ranged and varied depending on the student such as bullying, peer pressure, body image issues, etc… and their ages ranged from grade 2 to grade 7.

I have done a placement in a grade 1/2 class which was where I found my love, desire and passion to become a teacher. I worked alongside the teacher to help create an excellent work environment for the students for both academic and social learning. I worked individually with students or in small groups to help them in math, reading or provide extra support if they were falling behind. Within this placement an ongoing task of mine was to aid in behaviour modifications with some students.

I have completed a placement in a JK/SK class where I observed the teacher, ECE and the students in the class. I assisted in running learning centres, conducted read-alouds and helped with math, spelling, reading and gym class activities.

I have completed a placement in a grade 5 class where I worked alongside the teacher to create a positive work environment, help students with their work, especially math, and taught a few lessons/classes of my own. I conducted science experiments based on structures and bridges and their ability to withstand gusts of wind or weight without tumbling over. Within this placement I worked very hard to help the students that were falling behind in their understanding of certain concepts in math and feel confident in the process.

My final placement/teaching experience was in a grade 2/3 class where I worked with the teacher to create and conduct lessons and assist in classroom management. In my time with this class I focused on language and the student's writing abilities. I created lessons and activities that entered around improving their writing skills such as spelling, grammar, use of detail and expanding on how much they write.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is two-fold. I feel that there is just as much to learn from students as there is to teach them. As a teacher, you can learn a lot from your students by just listening and observing them, which in return can help you to then better your approach to teaching. I am not afraid to say when and if I don't know something. I believe it shows students that not everyone, not even teachers know everything, and it provides a neutral space for both parties to learn something new together.

From tutoring, I would start by asking the parents what it is they would like their child to improve upon or start learning and find out the interests of the child as well. In science, if there is a particular topic that fascinates them, then I will make it my fascination too. As this would be my first time tutoring, I would give nothing but my all and 100% to it as I do with anything I set my mind to.

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Additional Languages: Hungarian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • York University (2020) - Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Algonquin College (2018) - Child and Youth care (College) (✔ On File)
  • Carleton University (2016) - Sociology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Ottawa Math tutor, Ottawa English tutor, Ottawa Science tutor, Ottawa Early Development Math tutor, Ottawa Elementary Math tutor, Ottawa Early Development English tutor, Ottawa Elementary English tutor, Ottawa Early Development Science tutor, Ottawa Elementary Science tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now