Skip to main content

Information About Peter - Clarington tutor

Profile Picture

Peter's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Peter:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Music

Price Guide
Elementary $40.00
Secondary $40.00
College / University $40.00
Casual $40.00

ESL

Price Guide
Elementary $20.00
Secondary $20.00
College / University $20.00
Casual $20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

English has always been something which has been one of my strengths. I have been teaching ESL since 1990 with people from within the Filipino community in Toronto, all the way to Bangkok, Thailand and a number of individuals from various other cultural backgrounds in homes, churches, schools and colleges.

Along with my degree in cross cultural studies, which also included Linguistics, I completed my TESL Canada studies at the Canadian Centre for Language and Cultural Studies and will be pursuing TESL Ontario studies with the same school in the near future.

I have a great passion in helping people communicate, especially when one is new to Canada. It is a great challenge and thus it is my desire to help people learn as quickly as possible so as to expand their possibilities within the society in general but specifically when it comes to employment opportunities.

I am very patient and compassionate with my students and explore every creative means in order to help the student develop a mastery in communicating.

Along with teaching ESL, I have been playing piano since I was 6 and guitar since I was 17. I have performed in Canada, the US and Ireland. I am also a piano tuner/technician and have been since 1985.

I have played for weddings, funerals and special events since 1979 and also played for Irish celebrities and on Irish television several times and performed in concerts all over Ontario. I have been teaching piano and guitar since 1999 and continue to do that as one of my specialties.

Tutoring Experience:

1990-present: teaching ESL in Canada. As indicated about myself, I have taught in Thailand and with people from the Filipino community in Toronto.

I have taught both in a casual group setting, primary school setting, college setting and of course, 1 on 1.

My experience goes back to when I was in High School as I attended a private school in Toronto with many international students from many countries, whom I would tutor and assist with learning English.

1999-present: teaching piano/guitar in Canada and Ireland. I have both had a music studio set up but at present,

I prefer to teach at the student's home which provides a convenience for the student. In Ireland, I taught in Dublin at a music studio and then developed my own clientele. In Canada, I have taught music both with a music association as well as my own private students, which is what I presently do.

Tutoring Approach:

With teaching ESL, I would find out first of all about you, the student and what stage of English learning you are at and find out what your goals for learning are.

If you are new to learning English, then basic conversation would be a good start. I am able to teach in person or online in order to see whether we would progress on a casual conversational basis, an outlined academic framework or both. Routine plus flexibility works best I think.

Together we would choose a system which would help you to achieve your goals in the shortest time possible and develop some measurable goals in which to work towards that end.

With teaching piano/guitar, I use a variance of methodology books which are available depending on the age of the student and his or her proficiency of the instrument. I also use many computer assisted games and learning techniques, in order to make learning a fun and interesting endeavour.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • CCLCS (2013) - TESL Canada (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • EPBC (1992) - Bth, Maj in Cross Cultural Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • RCM (1979) - Music Arts (piano, guitar) (Professional) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Clarington Music tutor, Clarington ESL tutor, Clarington Elementary Music tutor, Clarington Secondary Music tutor, Clarington College / University Music tutor, Clarington Casual Music tutor, Clarington Elementary ESL tutor, Clarington Secondary ESL tutor, Clarington College / University ESL tutor, Clarington Casual ESL tutor