Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Information About Nasrin

Vaughan tutor
 

References

This is how 3 referees rated Nasrin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a third year university student at the University of Waterloo in the Mathematics / Teaching program where I am work passionately towards becoming a teacher. Teaching has always been one of my biggest passions in life and I have been tutoring and working with children and young adults through various organizations for years and I look forward to gaining more tutoring experience not only to help the students I will be working with but also to gain valuable skills for my future teaching career.

Tutoring Experience:

7 years - Voluntary Tutoring (paired as a one-on-one tutor through teachers at school).
3 years - Private Tutor (paid as a one-on-one tutor mostly for middle school and high school math).
4 months - Held enriched math lessons for students in grades 6-8 including contest preparation.
2 months - TDSB Outdoor Education Instructor (led classrooms of students through the forest for nature related activities)
2 years - Licensed to Learn (L2L) Tutor Training Program (earned a level 1 and level 2 tutoring certificate).
1 year - Math Tutor (a group of high school students would come up with weekly math lessons and teach it as a lesson to students in grades 3-4 and later work with them individually)
1 year - Teacher Assistant in a kindergarten classroom (would assist with reading, writing, crafts and general supervision of the classroom).
3 years - Camp Art Counselor (worked during the summer/March/winter break and was paired with a group of children aged 5-12 where we would work on different art projects along with choreographing dance routines and acts/plays for the drama portion)
1 year - Tutor Coordinator of the Peer Tutoring Council (responsible for pairing up a tutee to a compatible tutor).
4 years - Peer Tutoring Council Tutor (paired with high school students for various subjects including math, biology, chemistry, physics, ESL, etc.).
2 years - Reading Buddies (paired with a child in kindergarten and would spent time weekly after school to read books with them).
3 years - Basketball / Sports and Games Instructor (worked with children aged 3-12 where I would come up with weekly lesson plans to work on different sets of beginner skills required for sports such as baseball, floor hockey, soccer and football and building and supervising obstacle courses.

Tutoring Approach:

I start with spending a certain amount of time to get to know the learning environment along with the student's best learning style.
I then spend some time reviewing the student's current lessons along with any evaluations from their school to assess their strengths and weaknesses.
I then work with the student to set SMART goals along with reviewing the Ontario Curriculum which will help me with writing lesson plans that will target these goals based on the student's strongest learning style.
I would then work with the lesson plan, adjusting it to create a more suitable plan if necessary along with providing constructive feedback often to let the student become more aware of their progress and motivate them to keep going.
If deemed necessary, at times when the student is not as interested in a topic, I work on making it more interesting by supplementing their interests into the lesson plan. As an example, while I was working on math with a peer, I noticed their lack of interest in a chapter and to help encourage them, I created a set of math questions based on baseball which was his favourite sport.

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Persian
Additional Languages: English (American), French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Waterloo (2019) - BMath Mathematics/Teaching Plan (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Earl Haig Secondary School (2017) - High School Diploma (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Vaughan Math tutor, Vaughan Computer Skills tutor, Vaughan ESL tutor, Vaughan Early Development Math tutor, Vaughan Elementary Math tutor, Vaughan Secondary Math tutor, Vaughan Elementary Computer Skills tutor, Vaughan Secondary Computer Skills tutor, Vaughan Elementary ESL tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now