Skip to main content

Information About Magdalene - Westmount tutor

Profile Picture

Magdalene's profile picture

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Secondary $40.00
College / University $40.00
Casual $40.00

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price Guide
Secondary $50.00
College / University $50.00
Casual $50.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi. My name is Magdalene , and I’m a write-a-holic. I write for a living. I write for fun. Give me a piece of paper and I’ll scribble on it, just for you. I’ve been at it my whole life—since I learned how to, of course. Six years ago, I embarked on my professional journey in this field, and it’s been one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. Now, I want to share this passion by helping students, young and old, improve their English writing and oral skills. I am a self-employed writer and translator, so my schedule is quite flexible. I always joke that there is a fine line between being self-employed and unemployed. Luckily, I wake up every morning excited to work! I am a Translator with Style. This means that not only am I interested in colour blocking, I am also [and more importantly] a translator who doubles as a creative writer. I studied Cinema and Communications at Dawson College. My favourite classes were media and communications, scriptwriting and newspaper writing. I also completed a Bachelor’s degree in English literature and a minor in Spanish with distinction at Concordia University. I am halfway through a Graduate diploma in Translation. How do I juggle school, satisfying clients and growing my business, you may ask? I go to night school and drink green smoothies for extra energy! I’ve done work for Top Franchise MS, Edu-performance and Evolumedia Group, among others.

I am creative. I am a writer. I am a translator. And, I’m here for you.

Tutoring Experience:

As for tutoring experience, I conducted a Catholicism class for tweens and developed weekly lesson plans to teach them about the Bible in a way that would speak to them as kids. I also tutored a young adult who wanted to complete her high school studies and was a Big sister to two elementary school children (6 and 10 years old) as part of the Big Brothers, Big Sisters program.

Tutoring Approach:

First of all, I assess students' needs, pinpoint their interests and craft a lesson plan that will both capture their attention and enable them to acquire new skills and/or hone the ones they already have. When appropriate, I incorporate social media into my methodology. For example, students could be asked to write an article or a script and submit it for peer review on our Facebook page.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Concordia University (2012) - Translation (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Concordia University (2010) - English literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Dawson College (2007) - Cinema and Communications (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Westmount English tutor, Westmount Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Westmount Secondary English tutor, Westmount College / University English tutor, Westmount Casual English tutor, Westmount Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Westmount College / University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Westmount Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor