Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Information About Julien

Markham tutor
 

References

This is how 2 referees rated Julien:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Map Location

Personal Description:

My name is Julien, I grew up in Ajax, Ontario, where I went through Kindergarten to Grade 12 in French Immersion. In 2009, I completed an Undergraduate degree in Geomatics Engineering at York University. I finished my degree with a passion to learn more and to share what I’ve learned with others, which lead me into graduate school. While completing a Masters of Science and PhD, I took more advanced STEM classes and became an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant.

During my PhD I co-founded tech startup in 2014. We were commercializing my PhD research, which I believe is valuable exercise that every PhD student should experience, as opposed to working on a thesis project for 4 years, only to have your hard work sit on a bookshelf collecting dust.

I currently work as a Computer Vision Engineer for Autonomous Vehicles. My work experience has shown me the importance of “Starting with Why” when teaching a concept. During my schooling, I’ve gone many a time, asking myself why do I have to learn this boring subject, only to realize its application some years later. This experience has also made me big believer in learning by example.

Tutoring Experience:

As a Teaching Assistant at York University for 8 years, I’ve taught classes ranging in size from 3 to 30 students. I’ve taught STEM subjects to students at various levels of difficulty, from non-science majors, to science and engineering majors, to graduate students. It was during this time that I started tutoring, as students often requested regular one-on-one sessions after having me as a Teaching Assistant.

I’ve been tutoring for 4 year. I’ve tutored and mentored students from the Elementary Cchool level to University, in subjects taught in English and French, such as Geography, History, French, Math, and Science.

Tutoring Approach:

I am proficient in explaining concepts in a simple manner and providing examples that deepen understanding. I can also identify when a student does not fully grasp a concept, and detect when I lose a student in a lesson and have to back up, slow down, or change my teaching approach.

In my experience, students experience difficult transitions going from Grade 8 Math to Grade 9 Math, then from Grade 12 Math to First Year Math in University. I especially enjoy preparing students for these transitions so they do not experience this traumatic shock.

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • York University (2017) - PhD in Geomatics (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • York University (2012) - Masters of Science in Geomatics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • York University (2009) - Bachelors in Geomatics Engineering (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Markham Math tutor, Markham French tutor, Markham Physics tutor, Markham ESL tutor, Markham Science tutor, Markham Elementary Math tutor, Markham Secondary Math tutor, Markham Elementary French tutor, Markham Secondary French tutor, Markham Elementary Physics tutor, Markham Secondary Physics tutor, Markham Elementary ESL tutor, Markham Secondary ESL tutor, Markham Elementary Science tutor, Markham Secondary Science tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now