Skip to main content

Information About Sid - Marazion teacher

Profile Picture

Sid's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sid:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Keyboard

Hourly Fee
Beginner £20.00
Casual £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have been playing keyboards since age 6 when I had my first lessons! That makes 56 years of musical fun so far! I first acquired a love for music by playing a pianola for hours on end, and then gradually learnt to read music whilst improving my playing ability on the piano and developing my own style. There was always a piano in my parent's house and a portable foot driven organ. Later I bought my first electronic organ (a Compton) followed by various other keyboards such as a Welson theatre style keyboard with pedals. Much of my skills were self-taught. In addition to playing from music I also play by ear, and intuitively. My tastes in music are quite wide. I started, (like most), being classically trained, then soon discovered a love of popular songs, musicals and the like. I currently own a Yamaha Clavinova which stays in my Studio, and a Yamaha Tyros Digital Workstation which is portable. These are both very versatile instruments offering a wide variety of musical genres, styles, backing, instrumentation, recording, etc.

Tutoring Experience:

Whilst I hold a teaching qualification, music was not my first subject - it was PE and Science which I taught for 12 years. Music was, and still is, my main hobby interest, and now includes professional composition for keyboard and for singing. I played for years just for fun, also accompanying singing on a more formal basis for over 20 years. I have also played at weddings and other special events. My children have become very competent keyboard players also. Some teaching skills are generic - i.e. preparation and presentation of material, understanding the learning process, application of skills, motivational skills, helping students to be the best they can be, etc. These are the skills and experience I bring as a background, but primarily my own particular way of teaching music.

Tutoring Approach:

Touch and expression are very important to me. Interpretation of music is key - reflecting its mood and appreciating its origin and theme. Accuracy of notation and timing is good, necessary, and very desirable, but not to the extent of being robotic, or too mechanical. My tuition is not primarily aimed at passing examinations or acquiring formal qualifications, but to have fun and enjoyment whilst improving and perhaps broadening one's repertoire. It will form a solid base for anyone who wishes to take it to higher levels. Playing a keyboard is an extension of my personality and I feel the music when I am playing. This I believe to be one of the fundamentals of being a good keyboard player (whether piano, organ or electronic keyboard), and one which I encourage in all students. Each student is unique, with widely differing tastes, aspirations, and ability. Not everyone can be the next Rachmaninov or Chopin! , but all can reach their optimum level of competence and enjoy skills bringing endless pleasure not just to themselves but to others also.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • King Alfred's College, Winchester (1969) - Teaching Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Marazion Keyboard teacher, Marazion Beginner Keyboard teacher, Marazion Casual Keyboard teacher