Skip to main content

Information About Michael - Mitcham teacher -

Instruments Taught

Guitar

Hourly Fee
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00

Bass Guitar

Hourly Fee
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00

Map Location

Map for Michael

Personal Description:

Age 42, moved to London from North-West England in 2010. Have played in bands for nearly 25 years and have toured the British Isles, USA and Costa Rica. Have played in France, Canada and Serbia.

Tutoring Experience:

10+ years teaching a wide variety of styles to all ages (list available on request). I taught from a shop for several years and then ran my own Music Teaching business for 2 years before moving to London. I have taught a pupil through from Grades 5 - 8 in the 'Rockschool' guitar series (he passed Grade 8 this year).

Tutoring Approach:

I like to teach in an easy-going fashion, showing a pupil a variety of chords worked through at the pupil's own pace, followed by playing some slow and reasonably simple tunes which allow the pupil to acquire the 'feel' of playing a popular song without making it too difficult and demoralising (I play along with a pupil on guitar or bass once they have mastered the song to give a more 'authentic' feel as if they are playing in a group situation). I feel this makes the learning experience more enjoyable. If the pupil wishes to progress further, then some more complex pieces can be studied.

Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • City & Guilds 7303 Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS) which will be completed in December 2010

Tags: Mitcham Guitar teacher, Mitcham Bass Guitar teacher, Mitcham Beginner Guitar teacher, Mitcham Intermediate Guitar teacher, Mitcham Beginner Bass Guitar teacher, Mitcham Intermediate Bass Guitar teacher