Skip to main content

Information About Jonathan - Shipley teacher

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jonathan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Guitar

Hourly Fee
Casual £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I'm a 22-year-old guitarist based in the Wharfedale area (Otley/Guiseley/Baildon etc.). I have a broad repertoire of experience playing acoustic, classical and electric guitar. I'm advanced in finger-style playing and also playing with a plectrum. I'm familiar with a vast range of styles and genres, with my main personal interest being in acoustic/folk music. I've written songs in a band and by myself. You can view my **Contact Detail Removed** videos here: **Web Address Removed**
Some guitarists I'm influenced by are John Butler, J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr), Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), Julie Byrne and Annie Clark (St. Vincent).

Tutoring Experience:

I'm currently a new private tutor but have experience teaching guitar to younger children in secondary school.

Tutoring Approach:

I would like to encourage a freestyle approach to playing the guitar and focus on the creative aspects of playing as well as teaching other people's pieces. I have adequate music theory knowledge but don’t wish to teach grades; music is a fluid medium that can’t be measured by scores. I'm interested in using innovative techniques and experimenting with open tunings and mainly playing the guitar as an emotional extension of the self.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Leeds (2019) - Mathematics Degree (Masters) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Shipley Guitar teacher, Shipley Casual Guitar teacher