Skip to main content

Information About Jack - Cheltenham teacher -

Profile Picture

Jack's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Jack:





Instruments Taught


Hourly Fee
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00
Casual £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:


My name's Jack - I'm 28 years old, super friendly and I love the guitar!

I have been playing since I was about 15 and would say, un-modestly, that I've gotten rather good at it! Since then I've been in a few bands, jammed with loads of different musicians and just had fun learning songs and creating music. I've also started jamming with some local musicians in my free time just recently - would hesitate to call us a "band" just yet but we're headed in that direction!

I can play electric and acoustic and can turn my hand to most styles, maybe with the exception of shred metal - I am still working on getting my left hand up beyond 200 beats per minute!

My favorite band currently is "The Big Moon", a female indie rock band - if you have not heard of them then get on youtube! - I couldn't recommend them strongly enough. I also really like the Red Hot Chilli Peppers and their former guitarist's solo stuff (a fella called John Frusciante). Other favorites include The XX, Haim, Bombay Bicycle Club, Arctic Monkeys, Anna Calvi, The Strokes…

Outside of guitar I work as an engineer, studied a degree in physics and enjoy travelling the world with my girlfriend.

So yeah, in a nutshell, I'm super keen on guitar and love to teach. I am very committed to doing things well and helping people as best I can, so if you choose me as your tutor you can be sure that I'll give it my all and have you progressing in whatever style you wish in a very short time.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught many friends to play basic guitar and have taught former band mates a number of tricks and guitar ideas. Outside of casual instruction, I have been an academic tutor for friends and family for the past three years and so have good experience of teaching in general.

I am very passionate about music and so with this experience I'm confident I can help anyone wanting to learn guitar from scratch or just hoping to brush up on certain techniques.

Tutoring Approach:

I will always listen to my students – maybe you want to learn a particular song, a new set of techniques, a bunch of scales, how to improvise, some exotic chords, music theory - whatever it is I'm happy to help you with it! I won't dictate a set of rigid learning exercises (unless you want me to of course!)

I feel that it is very important to make the experience of playing music fun and not like a chore. When people find music hard work they almost always turn away from it. If you pick me as your tutor I will help you get your basic technical skills up to par but I will also teach you to play real music as quickly as possible so you can enjoy your guitar playing!

Above all, I am really friendly, encouraging, easy to get on with and a totally non-judgmental person. I think that these qualities are very important in a tutor as they allow the student to just be themselves and focus on improving.

I hope that sounds like a good philosophy - if so please get in contact and we can set up a first lesson :)

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Bristol University (2013) - 1st Class in Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Cheltenham Guitar teacher, Cheltenham Beginner Guitar teacher, Cheltenham Intermediate Guitar teacher, Cheltenham Advanced Guitar teacher, Cheltenham Casual Guitar teacher