Skip to main content

Information about Xiao Mei - Reservoir tutor -

Profile Picture

Xiao Mei's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Xiao Mei:





Subjects Tutored


Price Guide
Primary $50.00

Map Location

Map for Xiao Mei

Personal Description:

I first began tutoring when I was in University. The tutoring experience made me realise that I love interacting with children and passing on knowledge, values and life skills to them. Therefore, I applied to be a primary school teacher once I graduated and I have been teaching in a primary school ever since. I currently have seven years of experience in teaching.

School leaders and colleagues have commented that I set excellent routines and class rules to ensure my pupils are able to learn in a conducive environment. At the same time, I show my pupils warmth and provide an encouraging learning environment. My lessons are systematic and well-paced according to the understanding and abilities of the children. My pupils are motivated to learn and find my lessons interesting.

I was identified by school leaders to specialise in Mathematics and joined the school’s ICAN (Improving Confidence and Achievement in Numeracy) pilot programme for pupils weaker in numeracy skills after 2 years of teaching. I also went on to be an ICAN mentor to new teachers subsequently.

Many people have commented that I have a calm and patient personality so if you're looking for a tutor with such traits, you've met the right person!

Tuition Experience:

Mathematics: 7 years
English: 5 years
Chinese: 2 years

English is my first language and Chinese is my second language. I took Higher Chinese in primary and secondary school. I believe in life-long learning and picked up a little Japanese Language in my university years too. :)

Tutoring Approach:

I usually link what pupils learn in books to real life applications as it will make learning more meaningful for them. I frequently use examples, stories and manipulative to teach my pupils. It makes it easier for them to understand concepts and enhances the fun level in lessons.

I also believe in building good rapport with my pupils as it helps me to understand my pupils' needs as well as the learning style that best suits them.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Chinese, Japanese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • National Institute of Education (2010) - Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Specialisation in teaching at primary school level) (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • National University of Singapore (2008) - Bachelor of Arts and Social Science in Economics and Japanese Studies – shared major (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Reservoir Maths tutor, Reservoir Primary Maths tutor