Skip to main content

Information about Jeremy - Donvale tutor -

Profile Picture

Jeremy's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jeremy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

Jeremy offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Chinese

Price Guide
High School $70.00
Casual $60.00

ESL

Price Guide
College $80.00
University $70.00
Casual $60.00

French

Price Guide
High School $70.00
College $80.00
Casual $60.00

German

Price Guide
High School $70.00
College $80.00
University $70.00
Casual $60.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

From my considerable experience as a language learner and teacher, I believe that you don't need to have a talent for languages to enjoy learning and mastering one. All you need is the enthusiasm or motivation and the commitment to learn one, and a good teacher will do the rest!
My ongoing interest and education in Linguistics has equipped me with an in-depth knowledge about languages and how they work. I have studied German and Chinese as Second Language at VCE level and am familiar with the curriculum and program. I have also taught myself French and studied it intensively at a language school in Lyon.
I have had experience preparing students for IELTS and am currently learning how to teach the PTE test. I am also familiar with several VCE EAL texts, including The Crucible, Medea, and The Golden Age.
I can teach one-on-one or in a small group of up to 3 students, and I offer a discount of 20% per student for group sessions.
IMPORTANT CONDITION: If I am required to drive more than 15 km to the tutoring location, I reserve the right to charge an extra $10 per session to cover fuel costs.

Tuition Experience:

I currently teach English to international students at Deakin University and German in the adults class at the German Saturday School. I have previously taught German, French and Spanish in various high school settings in Melbourne and London. I have also privately tutored a variety of clients in French, German. Chinese and English as Additional Language.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a passionate, professional and patient language instructor who specializes in teaching French and German based on the Michel Thomas Method. This is a revolutionary teaching technique which helps learners build their confidence in a language through acquiring lasting and relevant knowledge in a systematic, structured and stress-free fashion, with teacher support at every step of the way. I also strongly encourage the use of ICT in language learning, especially in between sessions.
To master any language, a fundamental knowledge of the sounds and how to decode them will help most people read and speak correctly. This, along with patient practice in the different verb tense forms, will help students gain a high level of proficiency. At the advanced level, I place a focus on moving towards a greater level of proficiency by understanding and using connected speech as well as acquiring vocabulary in chunks (with a special focus on collocations)

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Chinese, French, German
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Melbourne (2013) - Teaching (Secondary) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Melbourne (2009) - Arts (Linguistics) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Donvale Chinese tutor, Donvale ESL tutor, Donvale French tutor, Donvale German tutor, Donvale High School Chinese tutor, Donvale Casual Chinese tutor, Donvale College ESL tutor, Donvale University ESL tutor, Donvale Casual ESL tutor, Donvale High School French tutor, Donvale College French tutor, Donvale Casual French tutor, Donvale High School German tutor, Donvale College German tutor, Donvale University German tutor, Donvale Casual German tutor