Skip to main content

Information about Elri - Greenwood tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Elri:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

ESL

Price Guide
Primary $35.00
High School $35.00
College $35.00
University $35.00
Casual $35.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello Everyone, my name is Elri but I welcome everyone to call me El for short and pronunciation purposes. I am a well traveled and culturally experienced individual. I sincerely love being ESL teacher and I pride myself on being adaptable and flexible to suit the needs of my students. I studied Psychology and Anthropology in New Zealand and gained my TESOL Certificate IV here in Australia. I have a strong work ethic with a focus on the development and success of my students.

Tuition Experience:

I have lived and taught in South Korea, Indonesia and Taiwan in the last three years. I have taught students as young as 3 years old to adult students who were business professionals. I have experience in teaching Conversation English, Corporate English and General English which focuses on all four core aspects (Speaking, Listening, Reading and Writing). I had students from all levels; from Beginner to Advance and everything in between. I have prepared and organized extra classes for my tertiary students to focus on English for Academic Purposes and have aided colleagues in the past for IELTS preparation.

Tutoring Approach:

I will first conduct an interview in which I can discuss and assess the needs of students. With young students I will need to speak with at least one of their legal guardians. Please know that this interview absolutely free. This is just I can get to know my students a little better and be able to prepare an appropriate lesson plan which helps to avoid waste of time. Learning a new language is an ongoing process and I ask students to be patient and not to expect immediate results. It is also a commitment that's why if student complete four scheduled tutorials within three weeks I will provide the fifth one free.
I am a firm believer in interaction and try to avoid of too much use of worksheet activities. In my experience students learn and retain what they have learned better if they enjoy learning it. Further more it keeps them motivated. Educational games are not just for children, adults can benefit just as much from them. My goal of each lesson is to have my student be able to understand and use what they have learned lesson. I am always open up for suggestions, questions and even advice from my students. I found that an open dialogue between teacher and students work best. I fully realize that ESL student come from different cultural backgrounds and lessons need to be at times adjusted appropriately.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Afrikaans
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • English First (2014) - Cambridge Teaching Knowledge Test (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Teach International (2012) - TESOL Certificate IV (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Victoria University of Wellington (2010) - Psychology and Anthropology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Tauranga Girls College (2004) - NCEA Level 3 University Entrance (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Greenwood ESL tutor, Greenwood Primary ESL tutor, Greenwood High School ESL tutor, Greenwood College ESL tutor, Greenwood University ESL tutor, Greenwood Casual ESL tutor